Skip to main content
Report this ad

See also:

Ray Davies, Donovan among artists to be honored at the Songwriters Hall of Fame

Ray Davies
Photo by Ian Gavan/Getty Images

The 2014 Songwriters Hall of Fame Annual Induction and Awards Dinner will be held Thursday, June 12that the Marriott Marquis Hotel in New York City.

Inductees at this year’s event include Ray Davies, Donovan, Graham Gouldman, Mark James and Jim Weatherly. The Johnny Mercer Award will be presented to Kenneth Gamble and Leon Huff, the Howie Richmond Hitmaker Award will be presented to Doug Morris and the Hal David Starlight Award will be preseted to Dan Reynolds (of Imagine Dragons). Del Bryant will be presented with the Visionary Leadership Award. The 2014 Towering Song Award will be presented to “Over the Rainbow,” written by Songwriters Hall of Fame inductees Harold Arlen & E.Y. Harburg, and published by EMI Feist Catalog, Inc.

Presenters and/ or performing at the awards will be Aloe Blacc, Jon Bon Jovi, Cam, Rosanne Cash, Chubby Checker, Jackie Evancho, A Great Big World, Vince Gill, Candice Glover, Jimmy Iovine, Martina McBride, Miguel, Ralph Peer and Chita Rivera.

The Songwriters Hall of Fame celebrates songwriters and produces programs devoted to the development of new songwriting talent through workshops, showcases and scholarships.There are

Previous honorees includes Barry Mann & Cynthia Weil, Jerry Leiber & Mike Stoller, Eddie Holland, Lamont Dozier & Brian Holland, Smokey Robinson, Desmond Child, Paul Williams, Hal David & Burt Bacharach, John Fogerty, Bob Dylan, Richard & Robert Sherman, Carole King, Paul Simon, Billy Joel, Jon Bon Jovi & Richie Sambora, Sir Elton John & Bernie Taupin, Brian Wilson, James Taylor, Bruce Springsteen, Phil Collins, Loretta Lynn, Van Morrison, Kris Kristofferson, Dolly Parton, Diane Warren, Paul Anka, Stevie Wonder, Bob Seger, Steven Tyler & Joe Perry and Leonard Cohen among many others.

Tickets for the Songwriters Hall of Fame event begin at $1000 each, and are available through Buckley Hall Events, 914-579-1000. Net proceeds from the event will go toward the Songwriters Hall of Fame programs.

Report this ad