Skip to main content
  1. AXS Entertainment
  2. Arts & Entertainment
  3. Music

Rafael Frühbeck de Burgos will make his first visit to the SFS podium since 1985

See also

This month Spanish maestro Rafael Frühbeck de Burgos will return to San Francisco to conduct the San Francisco Symphony (SFS). It will be his first time on the SFS podium since 1985, although he has made two visits to Davies Symphony Hall to conduct the Vienna Symphony in 1994 and 1996. He has prepared a program of compositions from the eighteenth and nineteenth centuries.

He will begin his program with Joseph Haydn’s early and relatively short Hoboken I/6 symphony in D major. This symphony is called “Le Matin” for its depiction of the dawn in its opening measures, a “tone poem” effect that prefigures a similar representative approach that he would apply much later in life in his Hoboken XXI/2 oratorio The Creation. This will be complemented by a performance are the far more explicitly representative symphonic suite Scheherazade, by Nikolai Rimsky-Korsakov, which provides a musical account of several of the tales that Scheherazade relates in One Thousand and One Nights.

The soloist for this concert will be cellist Alisa Weilerstein. Her last appearance in Davies took place in the summer of 2012, when she performed Antonín Dvořák’s Opus 104 cello concerto in B minor with SFS under the baton of Michael Francis. For this concert she will perform another Haydn composition, his Hoboken VIIb/1 cello concerto in C major.

There will be four performances of this concert in Davies. These will take place at 8 p.m. on Wednesday, February 19, and Saturday, February 22, at 2 p.m. on Thursday, February 20, and at 6:30 p.m. on Friday, February 21. The Inside Music Talk will be given by Scott Foglesong one hour prior to each concert, free to all ticket holders. In addition a free podcast about Scheherazade will be available for download from the Podcast page shortly before the first performance. Ticket prices range from $15 to $156 and may be purchased through the event page for this concert on the SFS Web site. Tickets may also be purchased at the Davies Box Office on Grove Street between Van Ness Avenue and Franklin Street or by calling 415-864-6000.


Today's top buzz...

  • Coachella
    The set times you need to know have been announced for Coachella
    Festival Buzz
  • Lamar Odom
    The New York Knicks are giving Lamar Odom another shot in the NBA
    NBA Buzz
  • Porsha Williams
    See why 'Real Housewives of Atlanta' star Porsha Williams posed for this mug shot
    TV News
  • NHL tickets
    If you're looking to catch an NHL playoff game in NYC, don't expect to do so on a budget
    NHL Buzz
  • Transcendence
    Review: ‘Transcendence’ fascinates, but does it rise above the field?
    Movies Buzz
  • Kobe Bryant
    Kobe Bryant has agreed to cooperate with an all-access documentary about his life
    Sports Buzz

User login

Log in
Sign in with your email and password. Or reset your password.
Write for us
Interested in becoming an Examiner and sharing your experience and passion? We're always looking for quality writers. Find out more about and apply today!