Skip to main content
  1. Arts & Entertainment
  2. Books

Publishers Weekly has sites for avid young readers

Publishers Weekly (PW), a book publishing website, sponsors some sites engineered just for your young readers. These sites aren’t aimed at reluctant readers, but are actually for the avid reader who enjoys hearing more about their favorite books and authors.

If your child is into chapter books or Harry Potter, they will probably enjoy Kidsreads.com. Here they will find such things as trivia games specially made for fans of Alex Rider, Artemis Fowl, Geronimo Stilton, Harry Potter and others. There are word scrambles for many books, including A to Z Mysteries and Goosebumps. They will also find sections about the books that are going to be made into movies, when upcoming books will be released and what has recently been published. With book reviews, author interviews, and many more features, this site is a treasure for any child who enjoys reading.

Although teens will enjoy Harry Potter, they won’t be looking for beginning chapter books. Your teens, however, have not been left by PW. Another site, Teenreads.com, is filled with many of the same features as Kidreads, but it features books for teens. In addition to the reviews and book updates, there are features like how to start a book club, suggested reading for your club, contests, and graphic novel reviews. Publishers Weekly has surveyed teen readers and worked hard to provide them with a site that peaks their interests. Now with reportedly more than 230,000 unique monthly visitors, this site seems to be a success.

Both these sites are part of PW Book Report Network, which features other sites that are aimed at adult readers. PW’s recent survey found that 31% of the teens surveyed actually read adult titles “without reservation” and 58% said that it depended on the book. Since only a very small percentage do not read adult books, some of the books featured in the sections for adults are also discussed on the Teenreads website.

These sites from Publishers Weekly seem to have their finger on the pulse of young readers. So if you're wondering what sort of books might appeal to your reader’s insatiable appetite for books, check them out.

Comments

Advertisement

Arts & Entertainment

  • Jack White
    Watch as Jack White covers Jay Z at the Forecastle Music Festival
    Headlines
  • Jay Z and Beyonce
    See how the rumors about Jay Z and Beyoncé splitting up came about
    Video
    Celebrity Buzz
  • Comic-Con
    San Diego Comic-Con 2014 exclusives: Entertainment Earth
    Camera
    20 Photos
  • Paul McCartney
    Take an exclusive look at Paul McCartney's soundcheck before a recent show
    Camera
    20 Photos
  • Katy Perry
    Watch Katy Perry transform from pop princess to one of the world's hottest women
    Camera
    19 Photos
  • Philip Seymour Hoffman
    Find out why Philip Seymour Hoffman left his children out of his will
    Video
    Today's Buzz