Skip to main content
  1. Arts & Entertainment
  2. Books

Publishers Weekly has sites for avid young readers

Publishers Weekly (PW), a book publishing website, sponsors some sites engineered just for your young readers. These sites aren’t aimed at reluctant readers, but are actually for the avid reader who enjoys hearing more about their favorite books and authors.

If your child is into chapter books or Harry Potter, they will probably enjoy Kidsreads.com. Here they will find such things as trivia games specially made for fans of Alex Rider, Artemis Fowl, Geronimo Stilton, Harry Potter and others. There are word scrambles for many books, including A to Z Mysteries and Goosebumps. They will also find sections about the books that are going to be made into movies, when upcoming books will be released and what has recently been published. With book reviews, author interviews, and many more features, this site is a treasure for any child who enjoys reading.

Although teens will enjoy Harry Potter, they won’t be looking for beginning chapter books. Your teens, however, have not been left by PW. Another site, Teenreads.com, is filled with many of the same features as Kidreads, but it features books for teens. In addition to the reviews and book updates, there are features like how to start a book club, suggested reading for your club, contests, and graphic novel reviews. Publishers Weekly has surveyed teen readers and worked hard to provide them with a site that peaks their interests. Now with reportedly more than 230,000 unique monthly visitors, this site seems to be a success.

Both these sites are part of PW Book Report Network, which features other sites that are aimed at adult readers. PW’s recent survey found that 31% of the teens surveyed actually read adult titles “without reservation” and 58% said that it depended on the book. Since only a very small percentage do not read adult books, some of the books featured in the sections for adults are also discussed on the Teenreads website.

These sites from Publishers Weekly seem to have their finger on the pulse of young readers. So if you're wondering what sort of books might appeal to your reader’s insatiable appetite for books, check them out.

Comments

Advertisement

Arts & Entertainment

  • Iggy Azalea
    Iggy Azalea shakes things up at The Cosmopolitan of Las Vegas
    Headlines
  • Bachelorette
    Andi Dorfman chose a man on 'The Bachelorette', but did he pop the question?
    Video
    TV Buzz
  • Jennifer Lopez
    Watch J.Lo transform from Fly Girl to one of the world's hottest women
    Camera
    18 Photos
  • Child stars
    You won't believe what some of these former child stars look like all grown up
    Camera
    26 Photos
  • Celebrity tattoos
    We're not sure what some of these stars were thinking when they got inked
    Camera
    23 Photos
  • Freddie Prinze Jr
    Freddie Prinze Jr. made jaws drop with some shocking admissions about Keifer Sutherland
    Video
    Pop Culture