Skip to main content
Report this ad

See also:

Prong to release new album, announce Record Store Day single

Prong - Ruining Lives
Prong - Ruining Lives

New York metal miscreants, Prong are set to return this spring with their ninth slab of ear-triturating sonic mayhem. Today the band announced the title of the album, revealed the track listing, and offered details on a special Record Store Day single.

"Ruining Lives" will be the follow-up to Prong's acclaimed 2012 release "Carved Into Stone" and continues to show the band on an upward trajectory, proving that despite having a long, illustrious career Prong can still make records that matter and re-invent themselves without negating their roots.

With vocalist and guitarist Tommy Victor in the producer’s chair and Steve Evetts (Hatebreed, Sick Of It All, Sepultura) once again coming in to put his trademark shine on the record, "Ruining Lives" has turned out to be a monster of an album. From the first riff-assault of the opener “Turnover”, the album takes you on an angst-filled roller coaster ride that marries some very old school, "Beg To Differ" elements with post-punk, industrial metal, hardcore thrash, all the while retaining a modern and current feel. Fans of the bands legendary, genre-defining "Cleansing" era and new fans alike will be thrilled.

Tommy Victor said of "Ruining Lives":

“This is the fastest written and recorded Prong album ever and it has more great songs than any previous Prong record. I am particularly proud of the vocal performance and I think we captured some outstanding sounds on this album. There’s a little bit of a throwback element here. 'Ruining Lives' is almost a 'Force Fed' type of song. The album is a hybrid between NY Hardcore and some very modern, song-oriented work. You will find some 'Rude Awakening' but also some solid, crushing riffs. I feel we have captured the best elements of Prong on this album. 'Come To Realize' is something new – we have never approached this kind of time signature. It really is math-metal meets pure hardcore with a crazy-ass riff. What’s exciting about the whole album is you have your hooks, your riffs and something innovative that makes the album very current. This qualifies as the hybrid nature of Prong: marrying post-punk, industrial metal, hardcore thrash and modern elements – all of that with hooks and not just a bunch of screaming.”

The new album, "Ruining Lives" will be released now through SPV/Steamhammer in the US/Canada on May 13th as a limited digipak version including a bonus track and poster, as a double gatefold colored vinyl version including a bonus track and the CD in cardboard sleeve, as a standard version and download.

On April 19, Prong will release an exclusive single for the ”Record Store Day“ celebration with the new track “Turnover” on side A and a pig remix version of “Revenge Best Served Cold” by Raymond Watts on Side B. The single is limited to 3.000 copies and comes in a green/white marbled vinyl version. The worldwide digital release of this single is April 21.

Track Listing DigiPak:
2.The Barriers
3.Windows Shut
4.Remove, Separate Self
5.Ruining Lives
6.Absence Of Light
7.The Book Of Change
8.Self Will Run Riot
9.Come To Realize
10.Chamber Of Thought
11.Limitations And Validations
12.Retreat (Bonus Track)

Report this ad