Skip to main content
Report this ad

See also:

Projecting the 2014 men’s NCAA tournament field

Louisiana Lafayette earns trip to NCAA tournament by upsetting Sun Belt conference top- seed Georgia State 82-81 in overtime on March 16.

Xavian Rimmer, who knocked down seven triples, scored a career-high 27 points to help Louisiana-Lafayette overcome a nine-point deficit and force overtime.

Lafayette went on a 6-0 run in overtime to take the lead for good, 80-77 with 44 seconds remaining on a Elfrid Payton layup.

The third-seeded Ragin' Cajuns (23-11) earned an automatic bid to their first NCAA tournament since 2005.

Ryan Harrow scored a career-high 37 points for Georgia State but missed an off-balance, driving bank shot in the final seconds. The top-seeded Panthers (25-7) had won 22 of their last 23 games, but will likely be relegated to the NIT after the heartbreaking loss.

Virginia and St. Joseph’s also earned automatic bids by winning the ACC and Atlantic 10, respectively on Sunday. Top-ranked Florida nipped Kentucky to win the SEC while No. 22 Michigan State upset No. 8 Michigan to grab the Big-10 automatic bid.

The rest of the article will examine the rest of the automatic and at-large bids.

America East (1): Albany (18-14). The Great Danes, the conference’s No. 4 seed, upset No. 2 Stony Brook 69-60 in the conference championship game to earn their second consecutive NCAA bid. Albany is 0-3 in the NCAA tournament.

American Athletic : (3), bubble (2):Louisville (29-5), Cincinnati (27-6), Connecticut (26-8) are in the tournament. Louisville won the won the conference regular season and tournament. Memphis (23-9) and SMU (23-9) are on the bubble.

Atlantic-10 (5). Saint Louis (26-6), VCU (26-8), George Washington (24-8), St. Joseph’s (24-9) and Massachusetts (24-8) are all in the tournament.

ACC (5), Bubble (2). Virginia (28-6), Syracuse (27-5), Duke (26-8), North Carolina (23-9) and Pittsburgh (25-9)are in. North Carolina State (21-13) and Florida State (19-13) are on the bubble.

Atlantic Sun (1): Mercer (26-8). The top-seeded Bears defeated No. 2 Florida Gulf Coast 68-60 in the finals. Mercer is making their first tournament appearance since 1985 and third overall.

Big 12 (4), bubble (2): Kansas (24-9), Oklahoma (23-9), Iowa State (26-7) and Baylor (24-11). Texas (23-10) and Oklahoma State (21-12) are on the bubble. Kansas won the regular season crown while Iowa State earned the conference’s automatic bid.

Big 10 (4), bubble (2): Michigan (25-8), Michigan State (26-8) , Wisconsin (26-7) and Ohio State (25-9) are in. Nebraska (19-12) and Iowa (20-12) are on the bubble.

Big East (3), bubble (1): Villanova (28-4), Creighton (26-7) and Providence (23-11), as a result of their tournament championship, are in the “Big Dance”. Xavier (21-12) is on the bubble.

Big Sky (1): Weber State (19-11). The Wildcats won the Big Sky as the tournament’s No. 1 seed. Weber State is making their first NCAA tournament appearance since 2007 and 15th overall.

Big South (1): Coastal Carolina (21-12): The Chanticleers won the Big South as the tournament’s No. 2 seed. Coastal Carolina is making their first NCAA appearance since 1993 and third overall.

Big West (1): Cal Poly (13-19). The Mustangs won the Big West as the tournament’s No. 6 seed. Cal Poly is making their first ever appearance in the tournament.

Colonial Athletic Conference (1). Delaware (25-9). The Fighting Blue Hens won the Colonial Athletic Conference as the tournament’s top-seed.

Conference USA (1), Bubble (3). Tulsa (21-12) won the conference tournament is the only team in. Southern Miss (27-6), Louisiana Tech (27-7) and Middle Tennessee State (24-9) are on the bubble.

Horizon League (1), Bubble (1): Milwaukee (21-13) is in the “Big Dance” after winning the Horizon League as the tournament’s fifth seed. Green Bay (24-6) is on the bubble.

Ivy League (1): Harvard Crimson (26-4). The Crimson won the Ivy League regular season crown. Harvard is making their third straight NCAA tournament and fourth overall.

MAAC (1). Manhattan (25-7). The Jaspers won the MAAC as the tournament’s No.2 seed. Manhattan is making their seventh NCAA tournament appearance but first since 2004.

MAC (1) Western Michigan (23-9). The Broncos won the MAC as the tournament’s No. 2 seed. Toledo (27-6) is on the bubble.

MEAC (1). North Carolina Central (28-5). The Eagles (28-5) won the MEAC as the tournament’s top seed. North Carolina Central is making their first NCAA tournament appearance.

Missouri Valley Conference (1). Wichita State (34-0). The Shockers are ranked No. 2 in the nation and earned their NCAA bid by winning the MVC tournament. Wichita State is making their 11th NCAA appearance and third consecutive.

Mountain West (2). New Mexico (27-6) and San Diego State (29-4). New Mexico won the conference tournament by defeating top-seeded San Diego State 64-58.

Northeast Conference (1). Mount Saint Mary’s (16-16). The Mountaineers won the conference tournament as a No. 5 seed. Mount Saint Mary’s is making first NCAA tournament appearance since 2004 and fourth overall.

Ohio Valley Conference (1) Eastern Kentucky (24-9). The Colonels won the conference tournament as the No. 2 seed out of the Eastern division. Eastern Kentucky is making first NCAA tournament appearance since 2007 and eighth overall.

Pac-12 (4), bubble (2). Arizona (30-4), UCLA (26-8), Oregon (23-9) and Colorado (23-11) are in the tournament. Arizona State (21-11) and Stanford (21-12) are on the bubble.

Patriot League (1). American (20-12). The Eagles earned their first NCAA bid since 2009 as the conference’s No. 2 seed. The Eagles are making the tournament for the third time in history.

SEC (2), bubble (4). Florida (32-2) and Kentucky (24-10) are in. Georgia (19-13), Tennessee (21-12), Arkansas (21-11), and Missouri (22-11) are on the bubble.

Southern Conference (1). Wofford Terriers (20-12). The Terriers earned their way to the NCAA tournament by winning the conference’s automatic bid as a No. 3 seed. Wofford is making their first NCAA appearance since 2011 and third overall.

Southland (1). Stephen F. Austin (31-2). The Lumberjacks won both the regular season and conference tournament crowns. Stephen F. Austin is making just their second tournament appearance and first since 2009.

SWAC (1) Texas Southern (19-14). The Tigers are headed to the “Big Dance” for the fifth time and first since 2005. Texas Southern won the SWAC tournament as a No.3 seed.

Summit (1)North Dakota State (25-6). The Bison won the Summit League as the tournament’s top seed. North Dakota State is making their second appearance in the tournament and first since 2009.

WCC (2). Gonzaga (28-6) and BYU (23-11).

WAC (1). New Mexico State (26-9). The Aggies won the conference as the tournament’s No.2 seed. New Mexico State has now made three straight tournament appearance and 21 overall.

With 57 bids secured, 11 of the 18 teams on the proverbial bubble will get their ticket punched to the tournament.

Memphis, Florida State, Southern Miss, Stanford, Toledo, Tennessee and Green Bay are in due strength of schedule, RPI, BPI and road/neutral victories.

Last four in: Texas, Oklahoma State, Nebraska and North Carolina State

First four out: Arkansas, Xavier, Iowa and Missouri.

Report this ad