Skip to main content
Report this ad

See also:

Premiere date announced for 'American Horror Story: Freakshow'

American Horror Story: Freakshow finally has a premiere date. FX's smash anthology series will kick off it's highly anticipated fourth season on Oct. 8 at 10 p.m., just in time for Halloween.

The official title card for 'American Horror Story: Freakshow'
FX Networks

Yesterday, the first official teaser trailer for Freakshow, which you can view above, was released. The teaser consists of a creepy hand that slowly reveals an "Admit One" ticket, before it cuts to the title card for the new season, featuring the signature American Horror Story logo.

Since it's debut in in Oct. 2011, the Emmy award winning Horror Story has been an anomaly in the sense that every season is completely separate from the one that came before it. The show is ultimately a mini-series with new storylines, characters, locations, and themes being introduced each year. Much like a traveling theater company, Horror Story does feature returning cast members from season to season, but always in a profoundly different role than they played in the previous season.

The fourth season of the show will be a period piece set in Jupiter, Florida during the 1950s. It will centered around a traveling freakshow, one of the last of its kind, ran by Jessica Lange's character, who will play a German woman named Elsa Mars. Lange has often been the focal point of the show and Muprhy chose Freakshow as this year's theme at her request. He told Entertainment Weekly earlier this year, "It was always a concept that Jessica and I talked about really early on. It was always her favorite one, which I thought was funny."

Last year's American Horror Story: Coven, which centered around a group of witches in New Orleans, pulled in winning numbers for FX and was the highest rated of all three incarnations. Coven was shot on location in New Orleans and given the cities ghostly and historic atmosphere, the production team decided to shoot Freakshow there as well. Production on the new season is already underway.

Some Horror Story regulars who will be returning to the show this year are Sarah Paulson, Kathy Bates, Angela Basset, Francis Conroy, Denis O' Hare, Evan Peters, Jamie Brewer, Emma Roberts, and Gabourey Sidibe. Michael Chiklis, John Carroll Lynch, Finn Wittrock, The Hunger Games' Wes Bentley, and singer Patti LaBelle, all of whom are new to the show, have also joined the cast of Freakshow. The show made headlines again last week, when Murphy announced via Twitter that they had cast Jyoti Amge, the world's smallest woman. Amge will play a performer in the freakshow.

American Horror Story was created by Ryan Murphy and Brad Falchuk. Murphy's other credits include FOX's musical dramedy, Glee (also co-created with Falchuk), FX's Nip/Tuck, and the critically acclaimed HBO film, The Normal Heart.

Report this ad