Skip to main content
Report this ad

See also:

Preliminary USA World Cup roster revealed

USA reveals preliminary World Cup roster
USA reveals preliminary World Cup roster

Today, U.S. Men's National Team head coach Jurgen Klinsmann revealed his preliminary 30-man roster for the 2014 FIFA World Cup. From this group, the German coach will select a squad of 23 players by June 2 for the final roster that will travel to Brazil.

MLS teams will begin to feel the effect of the call-ups on May 14 when the 30 players on the preliminary roster report to Palo Alto, California, for the start of USMNT training camp at Stanford University. All around MLS, teams will release their top internationals to train with their countries' national teams for the world's greatest tournament.

The U.S. Men's National Team was drawn into Group G of the 2014 FIFA World Cup along with Ghana, Portugal and Germany. The U.S. opens the tournament on June 16 against Ghana, with kickoff at 6 p.m. ET at Estadio Das Dunas in Natal, in the state of Rio Grande do Norte. The USA will then face Portugal on June 22 at 6 p.m. ET at Arena Amazonia in Manaus, in the state of Amazonas, and will finish group play against three-time World Cup champion Germany at Arena Pernambuco in Recife, which is the capital of the state of Pernambuco. Kickoff for the match against Germany is at 12 p.m. ET.

"We had some difficult decisions to make, and we are very excited about the 30 players coming into camp," said Klinsmann. "There is competition in every position, and these next couple of weeks will allow us to make the final determinations on the best 23-man unit to represent the United States in the World Cup."

Nine top leagues are represented on the preliminary roster: USA's MLS (15), England's Premier League (4), Germany's Bundesliga (4), Mexico's Liga MX (2), Austria's Bundesliga (1), France's Ligue 1 (1), Netherlands' Eredivisie (1), Norway's Tippeligaen (1) and Turkey's Super Lig (1). In MLS, the Seattle Sounders will send three players, while the LA Galaxy, Real Salt Lake, San Jose Earthquakes and Sporting Kansas City will release two apiece.

Beasley and Donovan have each appeared on three World Cup rosters. Dempsey and Howard have two each, while Altidore, Bradley, Edu, Goodson and Guzan all made their debut in 2010 in South Africa. Five players have 10 caps or less: John Brooks, Timmy Chandler, Julian Green, Aron Johannsson and DeAndre Yedlin.

Other international MLS stars have been called up for their national teams. Columbus Crew’s Waylon Francis and Giancarlo Gonzalez, New York Red Bulls’ Roy Miller and Real Salt Lake’s Alvaro Saborio have been called up to Costa Rican national team camp. Chivas USA’s Marvin Chavez, Houston’s Boniek Garcia, New England Revolution’s Jerry Bengtson, and San Jose’s Victor Bernardez have been named to Honduras’ 23-man roster, while New York Red Bulls Tim Cahill and Toronto’s Julio Cesar have made Australia’s and Brazil’s respective rosters.

Three-match World Cup Send-Off Series

Under the banner of "One Nation. One Team." the U.S. will play three matches in the Send-Off Series from May 27-June 7 in San Francisco, New York and Jacksonville, Florida. The Send-Off Series kicks off with USA vs. Azerbaijan, at 7 p.m. on Tuesday, May 27, at Candlestick Park in San Francisco. The USA then hosts Turkey at 2 p.m. ET on Sunday, June 1, at Red Bull Arena in Harrison, New Jersey, before traveling to Jacksonville, Florida, to face Nigeria on June 7 at 6 p.m. ET at EverBank Field. All three Send-Off Series matches will be broadcast live on ESPN2, WatchESPN, UniMas and ESPN Deportes Radio.


GOALKEEPERS (3): Brad Guzan (Aston Villa), Tim Howard (Everton), Nick Rimando (Real Salt Lake)

DEFENDERS (11): DaMarcus Beasley (Puebla), Matt Besler (Sporting Kansas City), John Brooks (Hertha Berlin), Geoff Cameron (Stoke City), Timmy Chandler (Nürnberg), Brad Evans (Seattle Sounders FC), Omar Gonzalez (LA Galaxy), Clarence Goodson (San Jose Earthquakes), Fabian Johnson (Hoffenheim), Michael Parkhurst (Columbus Crew), DeAndre Yedlin (Seattle Sounders FC)

MIDFIELDERS (10): Kyle Beckerman (Real Salt Lake), Alejandro Bedoya (Nantes), Michael Bradley (Toronto FC), Joe Corona (Club Tijuana), Brad Davis (Houston Dynamo), Mix Diskerud (Rosenborg), Maurice Edu (Philadelphia Union), Julian Green (Bayern Munich), Jermaine Jones (Besiktas), Graham Zusi (Sporting Kansas City)

FORWARDS (6): Jozy Altidore (Sunderland), Terrence Boyd (Rapid Vienna), Clint Dempsey (Seattle Sounders FC), Landon Donovan (LA Galaxy), Aron Johannsson (AZ Alkmaar), Chris Wondolowski (San Jose Earthquakes)


Report this ad