Skip to main content
Report this ad

See also:

Power finally wraps up an IndyCar title

Will Power finished ninth in the MAVTV 500 to wrap up the IndyCar championship
Will Power finished ninth in the MAVTV 500 to wrap up the IndyCar championship
IndyCar Media: Chris Owens

Verizon IndyCar Series driver Will Power was three times the bridesmaid in the series, finishing second in 2010, 2011 and 2012. This year, he was finally able to secure a championship, leaving his Team Penske teammate Helio Castroneves to collect his fourth runner-up title run.

Power finished ninth in the MAVTV 500 at Auto Club Speedway in Fontana, California, while Castroneves finished 14th after a late-race drive-thru penalty for a pit lane entry violation.

"It's 15 years of hard work. I was crying as I crossed the (finish) line," said Power on the IndyCar website. “It’s surreal. It’s just a fantastic way to finish the season. I can’t believe I’m the champion.”

“It’s another second, but well done to Will,” said Castroneves. “It stings a little bit, but it motivates me to come back stronger next year and win a championship.”

This was the 13th IndyCar championship for Team Penske, but its first since Sam Hornish Jr. took the crown in 2006.

Scott Dixon finished third in championship points, followed by the third Team Penske driver, Juan Pablo Montoya, in fourth. Simon Pagenaud finished fifth in points.

Tony Kanaan picked up his first win of the season and his first win for Chip Ganassi Racing Saturday night at Fontana, beating teammate Scott Dixon by 3.6750 seconds. Ed Carpenter finished third, followed by Montoya and James Hinchcliffe.

Find out more about the upcoming Verizon IndyCar Series season at

Check out Paula’s Examiner columns on motorsports:

· Motorsports Travel


· Joe Gibbs Racing

· Kyle Busch Motorsports

· Buffalo Motorsports

Follow Paula on:

· Facebook – Paula Thompson Freelance and Motorsports

· Twitter - @paulat14

· Website –

· Flickr – Paula Thompson Freelance

Contact Paula at

Report this ad