Skip to main content
  1. AXS Entertainment
  2. Arts & Entertainment
  3. Music

Poulenc’s clarinet sonata will be performed at SFCM in its entirety

See also

Those who read my account of last Monday’s innovative approach to sonority for the second movement from Francis Poulenc’s clarinet sonata during the Clarinet Department Recital at the San Francisco Conservatory of Music (SFCM) may wish to know that the same SFCM student will be performing that sonata in its entirety at the beginning of the coming week. The occasion will be the final Graduate Recital for that student, Jonathan Szin. For this performance he will be accompanied by pianist Miles Graber. Graber will also accompany his performance of Robert Muczynski’s Opus 43 suite entitled Time Pieces and an arrangement of the “Méditation” from Jules Massenet’s opera Thaïs. For the final work on the program, Szin and Graber will be joined by cellist Laura Gaynon for a performance of Johannes Brahms’ Opus 114 trio in A minor.

This recital will take place in the SFCM Recital Hall this coming Monday, March 31, at 8 p.m. Admission is free, and no tickets are required. SFCM is located at 50 Oak Street, a short walk from the Van Ness Muni station.


Today's top buzz...

  • Weird Al
    'Weird Al' Yankovic gains his first number one album with 'Mandatory Fun'
    Music Buzz
  • LeBron James
    Frank Caliendo channels Morgan Freeman when reading LeBron James' letter
    NBA Buzz
  • NFL jerseys
    New York Giants and Jets fail to breach NFL's top 25 in jersey sales
    NFL Buzz
  • Slash
    Slash and The Conspirators crush it at Hard Rock, AP Awards
    20 Photos
  • Monks of Mellonwah
    Exclusive interview: Monks of Mellonwah talk music, touring and more
    9 Photos
  • Bad Company
    Bad Company and Lynyrd Skynyrd deliver a double dose of hits at the Blossom Music Center
    20 Photos