Skip to main content
  1. Life
  2. Religion & Spirituality
  3. Western Religions

Pope Francis delares seven people 'venerable'

See also

Pope Francis has paved the way for several founders of religious orders and laypeople to move closer to beatification, declaring them "venerable". According to Zenit News Agency, the Pope authorized the Congregation for Saints' Causes to promulgate decrees of "heroic virtue" on the following causes:

- Antonio Ferreira Vicoso (1787-1875), Portuguese Bishop of Mariana

- Saturnino Lopez Novoa (1830-1905), Spanish diocesan priest, co-founder of the Congregation of the Little Sisters of the Abandoned Elderly

- Joseph-Auguste Arribat (1879-1963), French professed priest of the Salesians of Don Bosco

- Mary Veronica of the Passion (nee Sophie Leeves) (1823-1906), British professed nun of the Order of the Descalced Carmelites, foundress of the Sisters of the Apostolic Carmel

- Elena da Persico (1869-1948), Italian lay foundress of the Secular Institute of the Daughters of the Queen of the Apostles

- Gaetana of the Blessed Sacrament (nee Carlotta Fontana) (1870-1935), Italian superior general of the Poor Daughters of St. Cajetan.

To become a Saint in the Catholic Church there are four levels the person must achieve. The Titles given the person are as follows:

  • Servant of God: Formal investigation has begun
  • Venerable: Heroic virtue has been decreed by Pope
  • Blessed: First miracle has been confirmed
  • Saint: Second miracle has been confirmed

The miracles must have occurred after the time of the person's death. A careful investigation must show no logical cause for the miracle.

Saints are role models for people striving to live holy lives. We turn to the saints for example and ask them to pray for us in times of need. We also keep the history of our faith alive by learning about the lives of the saints.



  • Johnny Manziel
    Should Johnny Manziel apologize for his hard partying over the offseason?
    Today's Buzz
  • Crop circles
    Similar crop circles appeared in Germany and England within days of each other
    19 Photos
  • Advanced placement
    The AP program is gaining traction as a key component in college admissions
    5 Photos
  • Beach hats
    Beat the heat with the best summer beach hats for women
    Beach Hats
  • Expectations for ministry
    Pastor preaches to newly ordained ministers about expectations for ministry
    6 Photos
  • Medical symptoms
    See which symptoms should cause you to seek a doctor’s attention right away
    6 Photos