Skip to main content
Report this ad

Plenty of primary challenges for Wayne County offices

Wayne County Executive Robert Ficano and Sheriff Benny Napoleon face challengers in the Aug. 3 Democratic primary, with eight county commissioners also involved in contested primaries.

Ficano has been challenged by Mario Fundarski.  No Republican has filed.  Napoleon, appointed sheriff when his predecessor Warren Evans became Detroit police chief, will run in the primary for the remaining two years of Evans' unexpired term against Daniel Dean, Walter Epps, Luke Granberry and Danny Smith.  Shelly Milton and Taras Nykoriak are seeking the Republican nomination.

In the 1st County Commissioner District (northeast Detroit, Grosse Pointes, Harper Woods), incumbent Tim Killeen (D-Detroit) will face-off against Republican challenger Robert Sheehy in the Nov. 2 general election.  The 2nd District (southeast Detroit) features a primary in which Commissioner Bernard Parker (D-Detroit) has been challenged by Dale Foster, Terrance Hood, Jean Lipps, William Tinsley and Daniel Watson.  No Republican has filed.

Commissioner Moe Blackwell (D-Detroit) in the 3rd District (north central Detroit, Hamtramck, Highland Park) faces primary challenges from term-limited state Sen. Martha Scott, Tom Jankowski and Ken Scott.  No Republican has filed.  In the 4th District (near west side Detroit), incumbent Jewel Ware (D-Detroit) is opposed in the primary by Jai-Lee Dearing, Clinton Griffin, Paul Hardy and Freddie Williams.  No Republican has filed.

Commissioner Ilona Varga (D-Lincoln Park) in the 5th District (southwest Detroit, Lincoln Park) is running in the primary against Tyrone Carter and Gary Roquemore.  Keith Steffke is the Republican candidate.  In the 6th District (north central Detroit), incumbent Keith Williams (D-Detroit) faces primary challenges from term-limited state Sen. Irma Clark-Coleman, Detroit School Board member David Murray and Willie McLeod.  No Republican has filed.

The 7th District (northwest Detroit) features a primary contest between incumbent Burton Leland (D-Detroit) and challengers Zahkiye Finn, Rosalyn Lynem and Monique McCormick.  No Republican has filed.  Similarly, in the 8th District (northwest Detroit), Commissioner Alisha Bell (D-Detroit) faces a primary challenge from James Penn.  Again, no Republican has filed.

In the 9th District (Redford, Dearborn Heights, Garden City), incumbent Diane Webb (D-Garden City) is running in the primary against Michael Todd.  Mark Cochran is the Republican candidate.  Commissioner Laura Cox (R-Livonia) in the 10th District (Northville, Plymouth, most of Livonia) faces primary challenges from George Hartman and Timothy Olszewski.  It is the only district in which no Democrat has filed.

Commissioner Kevin McNamara (D-Canton) in the 11th District (Belleville, Wayne, Canton, Sumpter, Van Buren) is unopposed in both the primary and general elections.  Commissioner Joan Gebhardt (D-Livonia) in the 12th District (Inkster, Westland, part of Livonia), has drawn two Republican challengers, Michael Case and David James.  Commissioner Gary Woronchak (D-Dearborn) in the 13th District (Dearborn, Allen Park, Melvindale) is opposed by Republican challenger J. Scott Saionz.

In the 14th District (Ecorse, Grosse Ile, River Rouge, Riverview, Southgate, Trenton, Woodhaven, Wyandotte), incumbent Joseph Palamara (D-Grosse Ile) faces Republican opponent C.B. Clark.  The only open seat is the 15th District (Brownstown, Flat Rock, Gibraltar, Huron, Rockwood, Romulus, Taylor), where Commission Chair Edward Boike (D-Taylor) is retiring.  Seeking the Democratic nomination are term-limited state Sen. Raymond Basham and Edward Mulka.  Jacqueline Jones is the Republican candidate.


  • Anonymous 4 years ago

    Jackie Jones, R-Brownstown Township, took the most votes with 5,100. Basham took 4,300 votes to defeat the 2,000 votes Edward Mulka, D-Taylor, got in the Democratic race.

Report this ad