Skip to main content
  1. AXS Entertainment
  2. Arts & Entertainment
  3. Music

Playing For Change Reveals Video For All-Star “Words of Wonder/Get Up Stand Up"

See also

The Rolling Stones' Keith Richards and Keb’ Mo’ have released a video for a medley of the classic songs "Words of Wonder" and "Get Up Stand Up" as part of Playing For Change 3: Songs Around The World, due on June 17th, 2014.

The CD/DVD set, available both digitally and physically at all major retailers and via Starbucks in North America, includes performances from Andres Calamaro, Keith Richards, Keb Mo, Los Lobos, Preservation Hall Jazz Band, Sara Bareilles, Taj Mahal, Toots Hibbert from Toots & The Maytals, in addition to a song produced by Jackson Browne.

Fans who pre-order the album at will receive a free download of “Words of Wonder"/"Get Up Stand Up” and “Clandestino” featuring Manu Chao.

This is the third volume of music in the Playing For Change series. Since the organization formed in 2005, Playing For Change has formed the PFC Band, which has toured throughout four continents for over 150 performances, as well as the PFC Foundation and its annual global day of music and action: Playing For Change Day. Through these various initiatives, the foundation has served over 700 children in nine music schools and programs in countries including South Africa, Ghana, Mali, Rwanda, Nepal and Thailand.

The Playing For Change 3: Songs Around The World track listing is as follows:

1. La Bamba (feat. Los Lobos and Andres Calamaro)
2. Words Of Wonder (feat. Keith Richards, Titi Tsira (PFC Band), Roberto Luti (PFC Band), and Aztec Indians)
3. Get Up Stand Up (feat. Keith Richards, Keb' Mo', Mermans Mosengo (PFC Band), Sherieta Lewis from Kingston, Jamaica and Natalie of Blue King Brown (Australia))
4. Reggae Got Soul: (feat. Toots Hibbert (Toots and the Maytals), Taj Mahal and Ernest Ranglin)
5. Down By The Riverside: (feat. New Orleans street performing Legend Grandpa Elliott (PFC Band / Stand By Me Video), Keb' Mo', and the Preservation Hall Jazz Band)
6. A Better Place – (feat. the PFC Band and Glen David Andrews)
7. What’s Going On – (feat. Sara Bareilles, Clarence Bekker (PFC Band) and Titi Tsira (PFC Band))
8. Guantanamera – (feat. Carlos Varella and Manuel Galban)

This article is copyright 2014 by Jeff Slate. No part may be reprinted or referenced without permission and/or attribution. All rights reserved.


Today's top buzz...

  • Mariah Carey
    Mariah Carey requires kittens before a show, but that's not the strangest celebrity rider
    Music Buzz
  • Clayton Kershaw
    Watch Clayton Kershaw throw a ball at Jimmy Kimmel
    Today's Buzz
  • Jessie J
    Jessie J enlists Ariana Grande and Nicki Minaj for her new song 'Bang Bang'
    Music Buzz
  • Journey
    Journey and Steve Miller jam out at the Shoreline Amphitheater
    16 Photos
  • Batman
    Batman and Robin Originals reveal comedy secrets at Comic-Con press conference
    12 Photos
  • Metta World Peace
    Metta World Peace gets physical during the Venice Basketball League game
    Sports Buzz

Related Videos:

  •  Lady Gaga and Tony Bennett arrive to their 'Cheek To Cheek' taping at at Jazz at Lincoln Center
    <div class="video-info" data-id="518346773" data-param-name="playList" data-provider="5min" data-url=""></div>
  • CD Review Fozzy Do You Wanna Start A War
    <iframe width="560" height="315" src="//;allowfullscreen=true&amp;autoplay=1"></iframe>
  • Kenny Lavender puts his ‘Conscious Journey’ to big band use
    <iframe width="560" height="315" src="//;allowfullscreen=true&amp;autoplay=1"></iframe>