Skip to main content
  1. Sports
  2. General Sports

Play suspended at U.S. Men's Clay Court Championship; will resume Mon. April 7

See also

Play was officially suspended at 3 p.m. on Sunday, April 6, 2014 at the U.S. Men’s Clay Court Championship with the final four qualifying matches reschedule for Monday, April 7 at River Oaks Country Club in Houston.

Robby Ginepri (USA) is now scheduled to face Thanasi Kokkinakis (Australia) on center court at 12 noon, while Peter Polansky (Canada) and Thiemo De Bakker (Netherlands) will begin play on court three at noon.

Takanyi Garanganga (Zimbabwe) and Ruben Ramirez Hidalgi (Spain) will also have a noon match on court seven.

Ryan Harrison (USA) and Ruben Bemelmans (Belgium) will play the final qualifying match on court three following the Polansky-De Bakker match.

Other matches on Monday will find Rhyne Williams (USA) playing Dustin Brown (Germany) following the Ginpri vs. Kokkinakis matchup.

The final match of the afternoon will have Jack Sock (USA) playing No. 8 Ivo Karlovic (Croatia) on center court.

In the evening matches beginning at 6 p.m., Alex Boromolov, Jr. (Russia) will face Sam Querrey (USA) on center court.

They will be followed by Marcos Baghdatis (Cyprus) playing Alejandro Gonzalez (Columbia).

Singles and doubles actions continues all week through Sunday, April 13 at River Oaks Country Club.

The U.S. Men’s Clay Court Championship has been played at historic River Oaks County Club in Houston since 2008.

Prior to that, the tournament was played at Westside Tennis Center in Houston, beginning in 2001.

The championship, which dates back to 1910, is the last remaining ATP Tour-level tournament in the United State to be played on clay.

Previous winners include John Isner (2013), Lleyton Hewitt (2009), Andy Roddick (2001-2002, 2005), and Andre Agassi (1988).

You can view the official draw page here.



  • David Price rumors
    Should the bottom-dwelling Tampa Bay Rays trade or keep pitching ace David Price?
    MLB Rumors
  • Hottest WNBA players
    Dig in to this WNBA slideshow and see what has Drake so hot and bothered
    20 Photos
  • Feeling groovy: The truth about Adam Wainwright and the grooved Derek Jeter pitch
    MLB News
  • Rory's dad cashes in
    Rory McIlroy's dad Gerry cashes in on $342,000 bet on son's British Open win
  • Bob Burnquist interview
    Examiner exclusive: Skateboarding legend Bob Burnquist talks Dew Tour and Toyota
  • 40-year-old cheerleader
    40-year-old mom Kriste Lewis becomes New Orleans Saints cheerleader
    NFL News