Skip to main content
  1. Sports
  2. General Sports

Pilot Pen: Women's Final Wrap-up

Caroline Wozniacki won the Pilot Pen championship for the 2nd consecutive year.New Haven, CT (8/29/09) - Reigning 2008 Pilot Pen champion Caroline Wozniacki battled Elena Vesnina this afternoon in the Women's Final.

Wozniacki took the first set 6-2. The second set was knotted up at 3 apiece before Wozniacki broke Vesnina's serve and then held her own to go up 5 games to 3. She served out the match for the championship 6-2, 6-4.

With the win, Woznaicki became the first back-to-back winner in New Haven since Venus Williams took the title four-straight years ('99-'02).

The men's semifinal matches took place this morning. The final can be seen on ESPN at 7PM.




  • David Price rumors
    Should the bottom-dwelling Tampa Bay Rays trade or keep pitching ace David Price?
    MLB Rumors
  • Maria Kirilenko slideshow
    Feast your eyes on the former fiance of Alex Ovechkin: The newly-single Maria Kirilenko
    20 Photos
  • Denver Broncos owner Pat Bowlen has Alzheimer's disease, will step down
    NFL News
  • Sam responds to Dungy
    Michael Sam has the perfect response to Tony Dungy's controversial comments
    NFL News
  • Bella wardrobe malfunction
    Sexy diva Nikki Bella suffers wardrobe malfunction during WWE show
    Fight Sports
  • LeBron gives cupcakes
    LeBron James sends cupcakes to neighbors after press overtakes neighborhood
    Food & Drink