Skip to main content
  1. Sports
  2. General Sports

Photo Gallery: 2011 Women's World Cup Qualifier

Amy Rodriguez would score the match's only goal in the 40th minute, to give the USA a 1-0 victory over Italy in the second leg of the 2011 World Cup playoff series. The USA had won the first leg, 1-0, in Padova, Italy on Nov. 20 on a late goal from Alex Morgan. The win gives Team USA a 2-0 aggregate series victory, and assures them of the sixteenth and final berth in the 2011 World Cup.

With the USA’s qualification, the 16-team field for the 2011 FIFA Women’s World Cup is now set. The qualifiers are: host Germany, Korea DPR, Japan and Australia from Asia and Sweden, Norway, France and England from Europe, New Zealand from Oceania, the USA, Canada and Mexico from CONCACAF, Nigeria and Equatorial Guinea from Africa and Brazil and Colombia from South America.

The USA will now await the 2011 FIFA Women’s World Cup Final Draw which will take place on Monday, Nov. 29 in Frankfurt, Germany to find out its first round opponents in what will be the sixth Women’s World Cup tournament.




  • David Price rumors
    Should the bottom-dwelling Tampa Bay Rays trade or keep pitching ace David Price?
    MLB Rumors
  • Hottest WNBA players
    Dig in to this WNBA slideshow and see what has Drake so hot and bothered
    20 Photos
  • Feeling groovy: The truth about Adam Wainwright and the grooved Derek Jeter pitch
    MLB News
  • Rory's dad cashes in
    Rory McIlroy's dad Gerry cashes in on $342,000 bet on son's British Open win
  • Bob Burnquist interview
    Examiner exclusive: Skateboarding legend Bob Burnquist talks Dew Tour and Toyota
  • 40-year-old cheerleader
    40-year-old mom Kriste Lewis becomes New Orleans Saints cheerleader
    NFL News