Skip to main content
  1. Sports
  2. General Sports

Peyton Manning wins fifth AP NFL MVP award in a landslide

See also

On the eve of Super Bowl XLVIII, Denver Broncos quarterback Peyton Manning has added another award to his trophy case. According to ESPN on Feb. 1, Manning has won his fifth Associated Press NFL Most Valuable Player Award.

The record-setting quarterback won the award in a landslide, earning 49 of the possible 50 votes. New England Patriots quarterback Tom Brady earned the other vote.

With the honor, Peyton Manning is just a Super Bowl victory away from capping off a season that has also earned him his second Offensive Player of the Year award, announced earlier in the day.

With his record-setting 55 touchdowns and 5,477 passing yards, Manning led the 2013 Denver Broncos to the best record in the AFC and a chance to win the franchise’s third Super Bowl.

Manning won his other MVP awards while with the Indianapolis Colts in 2003, ’04, ’08 and ’09.

He is the only player in the NFL to have ever won more than three NFL MVP awards. Peyton Manning would trade any individual accomplishments for a team victory in Super Bowl XLVIII against the Seattle Seahawks.

Subscribe to the Springfield Sports Examiner.

Follow the Springfield Sports Examiner on Twitter.

“Like” the Springfield Sports Examiner Facebook fan page.