Skip to main content
  1. AXS Entertainment
  2. Sports
  3. NFL

Peyton Manning named NFL MVP for record 5th time

See also

Regardless of the outcome of the Sunday’s Super Bowl matchup against the Seattle Seahawks, Peyton Manning of the Denver Broncos will not be leaving the Big Apple empty-handed.

The veteran quarterback picked up a pair of awards at the “NFL Honors” ceremony in New York on Saturday; having been named both the AP Offensive Player of the Year and the MVP of the 2013 NFL season.

This marks Manning’s record fifth MVP award. The 37-year-old quarterback also won the award in 2003, 2004, 2008 and 2009; all while playing for the Indianapolis Colts; making him the first player in NFL history to win the award with multiple teams.

Presented by Aaron Rodgers and Joe Montana, Denver Broncos Executive Vice President of Football Operations John Elway accepted the award on Manning’s behalf; as the quarterback is busy preparing for Sunday’s game. Elway is no stranger to the award, winning the award after the 1987 season.

In perhaps the single greatest regular season by a quarterback in NFL history, Manning set NFL records in both passing yards (5,477) and touchdowns (55). Still, the quarterback somehow fell one vote shy of joining Tom Brady (2010) as the only person to be unanimously selected as MVP. Coincidentally, it was Brady who received the one dissenting vote.

Manning came up just short of winning his fifth MVP last season (his first with the Broncos); finishing second in voting to Minnesota Vikings running back Adrian Peterson.

As nice as the MVP trophy may be; Manning will vie for the more coveted Lombardi Trophy Sunday; awarded to the Super Bowl champion.