Skip to main content
Report this ad

See also:

Penn State, Taylor, Ruth, Sanderson each join four timers’ club at 2014 Big Tens

Penn State won its fourth consecutive team title at the 2014 Big Tens
Penn State won its fourth consecutive team title at the 2014 Big Tens
Penn State

For Penn State, the winning formula for 2014 Big Ten Wrestling Championships was four times four.

The Nittany Lions won four their fourth consecutive team title at the conference championships at Kohl Center at the University of Wisconsin in Madison Sunday afternoon… two of the program’s top wrestlers, David Taylor and Ed Ruth, concluded their collegiate careers with four Big Ten titles of their own… while Cael Sanderson was named Coach of the Year for the fourth consecutive year.

Both Taylor and Ruth won respective 165 and 184-pound titles thanks to major-decision victories over University of Iowa rivals, becoming the 12th and 13th four-time Big Ten champs… and the first four-time conference titlewinners in Penn State wrestling history.

In addition, Taylor was named the tournament’s Outstanding Wrestler honor for the first time, and Big Ten Wrestler of the Year for the third time.

This year, the team title race was closer than in the past… with Penn State claiming the top spot with 140.5 points… just five-and-a-half more than second-place Iowa. In fact, going into the finals, just a half-point separated the two teams who each had five wrestlers vying for titles.

The one individual champ for the Hawkeyes was Tony Ramos at 133 pounds.

In third place in the team standings was Minnesota, with 118.5 points, and one titlewinner: Tony Nelson at heavyweight.

Ohio State placed fourth with 86.5 points. The Buckeyes had two champs in Logan Stieber at 141, and Nick Heflin at 197.

Nebraska came in fifth place with 79 points. A pair of Cornhuskers claimed titles: James Green at 157, and Robert Kokesh at 174. Just a half-point behind was Illinois, with 78.5. Jesse Delgado was the lone champ for the Fighting Illini, at 125.

Northwestern’s Jason Tsirtsis won the 149-pound conference championship.

The Big Ten will have 74 qualifier allocations for the 2014 NCAA Division I Wrestling Championships, to be held in Oklahoma City March 20-22.

Match Results – Championship Finals

  • 125: Jesse Delgado (Ill.) dec. Nico Megaludis (PSU), 3-2, TB2 (0:15 RT)
  • 133: Tony Ramos (Iowa) dec. Tyler Graff (Wis.), 2-1
  • 141: Logan Stieber (OSU) dec. Zain Retherford (PSU), 7-3
  • 149: Jason Tsirtsis (NU) dec. Jake Sueflohn (Neb.), 6-2
  • 157: James Green (Neb.) dec. Derek St. John (Iowa), 7-4
  • 165: David Taylor (PSU) maj. dec. Nick Moore (Iowa), 14-5
  • 174: Robert Kokesh (Neb.) dec. Mike Evans (Iowa), 6-4
  • 184: Ed Ruth (PSU) maj. dec. Ethan Lofthouse (Iowa), 10-2
  • 197: Nick Heflin (OSU) dec. Morgan McIntosh (PSU), 5-3, SV2
  • Hwt: Tony Nelson (Minn.) dec. Adam Chalfant (Ind.), 2-1, TB

Final Team Standings

  1. Penn State, 140.5 team points
  2. Iowa, 135.0
  3. Minnesota, 118.5
  4. Ohio State, 86.5
  5. Nebraska, 79.0
  6. Illinois, 78.5
  7. Wisconsin, 73.0
  8. Michigan, 71.5
  9. Northwestern, 58.0
  10. Indiana, 37.0
  11. Purdue, 34.5
  12. Michigan State, 21.5

It's the most exciting time of the college wrestling season. Subscribe today! Keep up with the biggest on-the-mat developments (including conference and national championships), as well coach hirings, firings and retirings, new programs, new events, new ways to promote wrestling, and other stories you won't find elsewhere... by clicking the "subscribe" button at the top of the page to make sure you don't miss a single article from College Wrestling Examiner, winner of Amateur Wrestling News' Dellinger Award as wrestling writer of 2011. It's absolutely FREE!


College Wrestling 101: Links to College Wrestling Examiner articles answering basic questions about wrestling, including rules, scoring, uniforms, more

Follow College Wrestling Examiner Mark Palmer on Twitter

Report this ad