Skip to main content
  1. Sports
  2. College Sports

Penn State’s David Taylor nominated for Male College Athlete ESPY Award

See also

David Taylor, two-time NCAA wrestling champ for Penn State, is one of five athletes nominated for a 2014 ESPY award as Best Male College Athlete of the Year, award sponsor ESPN announced Tuesday.

The awards, presented for outstanding achievements in sport by ESPN, will be presented on Wednesday, July 16 at 9:00 p.m. Eastern on ESPN.

Taylor will be facing off against arguably his toughest competition in his athletic career. Also in the running for the award is Doug McDermott (Creighton University basketball), Johnny Gaudreau (Boston College hockey), Lyle Thompson (Albany lacrosse) and Jameis Winston (Florida State football/baseball).

Awards are determined by an online vote of fans now through July 16. To vote, visit the 2014 ESPY Awards website.

Since the ESPY Awards made their debut in 1993, a number of amateur wrestlers have been nominated for various awards. Wrestlers who have won ESPY Awards include Rulon Gardner, Cael Sanderson and Anthony Robles. Taylor’s collegiate rival, Kyle Dake, was nominated last year for ESPY Male College Athlete honors but lost out to Texas A&M football star Johnny Manziel.

Reacting to the nomination, Taylor tweeted this message on his @magicman_psu Twitter account Tuesday: I voted! An honor to be a nominee for @ESPYS Male College AOY w/ these great athletes! #VoteM2

The ESPY nomination is the latest honor for Taylor, a four-time NCAA All-American and Big Ten Champ, and two-time NCAA titlewinner (winning the 165-pound crown in 2012 and 2014). On Monday, the Nittany Lion wrestler was named 2014 Jesse Owens Big Ten Male Athlete of the Year, a week after being named his alma mater’s Male Athlete of the Year. Earlier this spring, Taylor won the 2014 Hodge Trophy as the nation’s top college wrestler by WIN (Wrestling Insider Newsmagazine), to accompany the one he received in 2012, along with being named Wrestler of the Year by amateur wrestling websites InterMat and



  • David Price rumors
    Should the bottom-dwelling Tampa Bay Rays trade or keep pitching ace David Price?
    MLB Rumors
  • Hottest WNBA players
    Dig in to this WNBA slideshow and see what has Drake so hot and bothered
    20 Photos
  • Feeling groovy: The truth about Adam Wainwright and the grooved Derek Jeter pitch
    MLB News
  • Rory's dad cashes in
    Rory McIlroy's dad Gerry cashes in on $342,000 bet on son's British Open win
  • Bob Burnquist interview
    Examiner exclusive: Skateboarding legend Bob Burnquist talks Dew Tour and Toyota
  • 40-year-old cheerleader
    40-year-old mom Kriste Lewis becomes New Orleans Saints cheerleader
    NFL News