As reported, the Raiders lost 26-13 against the Chargers in San Diego on Sunday afternoon. The victory kept the Chargers’ hopes alive to make the AFC Wild Card spot.
Anyway, the Raiders had a total of 12 penalties with 73 yards. It was literally raining yellow flags every time the Raiders needed an important play to make.
Every time the Raiders needed a push, a flag would come flying in and stop any positive momentum that was needed to beat the Chargers. This was happening all day, offensively and defensively.
One particular penalty that really hurt the Raiders was cornerback Mike Jenkins’s personal foul for 15 yards in which he taunted and slapped the ball out of Chargers running back Ryan Matthew’s hand after being stopped for no gain. After that, the Chargers kept moving the chains and capitalized!
The Oakland Raiders looked like the old Raiders as the flags kept flying in the air. However, there was one call that was the most horrible call made against the Raiders in a while.
Rod Streater caught a pass into the end zone and, once his back hit the ground and slid for a few inches, the ball came out, with a little help from the Chargers’ cornerback that was rolling with Streater. The call was ruled incomplete!
The replay showed Streater making a clear catch and crossing the plane before losing the ball, which was caused by him hitting the ground, which also meant that Streater was down—his back hit the ground while he had control of the ball!
The announcers stated that the play will be overturned for being such an obvious mistake by calling it an incomplete pass. Coach Dennis Allen challenged the play, no review from the booth, but it was to no avail. The refs, after reviewing the challenge, still decided that it was an incomplete pass!
It was highway robbery! The touchdown would have put the Raiders a score away from taking the lead with a little more than 3 minutes left to play, plenty of time!
But no! The refs robbed any hopes that the Raiders had to make a comeback. Yes, the Oakland Raiders did commit a lot of mistakes, but the Streater-touchdown that should have obviously been, was wrongfully taken away!