Skip to main content
  1. News
  2. Top News

Pemiscot County School Board races heat up

See also

School board races across Pemiscot County are all going to be contests this time around as sign ups to be named on the ballot ended Jan. 21. The North Pemiscot School District in Wardell, MO has the most contested race with 12 people signed up to run for three open seats. The election is Apr. 8.

Incumbents Jerry Bullock and Gary Wilson have filed for re-election. They will take on Jerry McHugh, Chris Cooley, Heath Conaway, Willie Hunter, Jeremy Lawson, Ralph Tanner, Brian Luye, Joshua McGowan, Tim Rinehart, and Jimmy Swims.

In Hayti, MO, four people have signed up for three seats. Incumbents Mark Cartee, Doug Khourie, and Chris Brown have signed up for re-election. Brenda Ruff has also thrown her hat into the race.

In Caruthersville, MO three seats are up for election. Incumbents Cynthia Hodge, Bill “Peanut” Reno, and Tom McCall have all re-filed. John Ferguson has also filed to run for one of the three seats.

The South Pemiscot School District is Steele, MO also has four people running for three seats. Incumbents Kevin Gilmore, David Greene, and Nogi McDaniel have signed up for re-election. Beverly Renee Golden has also signed up to run for one of the three seats open.

In Deering, MO, the Delta C-7 School District has four candidates for their three seats. Incumbents Dwight Blankenship and Mike Tidwell have filed for re-election. Jerrod Young and Bert Rowell have also signed up to compete for the position.

The Pemiscot County R-3 School Board race had three-three year term seats up for election and one two year seat. B.J. Gatewood has signed up for the two year seat, to which he was appointed and is an incumbent. He is unopposed. Incumbents Stacy Faulkner, Brian Gunnels, and Bobby Lynn Powell have all filed for re-election, and they will be joined by Betty Turnbow.

In Cooter, MO, the only information given out by the administration today was that there were three three-year seats up for election and one one-year term and five people have filed. The names were not available today.



  • Mt. Everest avalanche
    Disaster strikes Mt. Everest as at least 12 people were killed in an avalanche
    Watch Video
  • Most Earthlike planet discovered
    The Kepler telescope has discovered the most Earthlike, possibly habitable planet yet
    Space News
  • Easter crosses create debate
    Easter crosses spark a debate of separation of church and state in Ohio
  • Chelsea Clinton is preggers
    Former first daughter Chelsea Clinton is pregnant with her first child
  • Stanley Cup playoffs
    The battle for Lord Stanley's Cup is on, don't miss a minute of playoff action
  • Ukraine discussed amongst U.S., E.U., Russia
    The U.S., E.U. and Russia agree on ways to diffuse the tension in Ukraine
    Watch Video

User login

Log in
Sign in with your email and password. Or reset your password.
Write for us
Interested in becoming an Examiner and sharing your experience and passion? We're always looking for quality writers. Find out more about and apply today!