A new computer tip every day for a year
Day 89 / 365
When using Windows Explorer, if you delete files or folders or move files/folders and you change your mind, Edit | Undo will back out the last change(s), just like undoing changes in an editor. Depending on the operation more than one change can sometimes be undone.
You can also undo using the keyboard shortcut CTRL+Z instead of clicking Edit | Undo.
Sometimes you can't undo changes this way, especially if you did something else after the move/delete and before trying to undo. If you can't get the files back with undo you can always go to the recycle bin and get them back.
The next time you delete or move a file and then decide that wasn't such a good idea just undo and your file(s) or folder(s) will re-appear like magic.
Come back soon for another tip in this 365-tip series.
Get notified every time I write an article. Sign up by clicking "+Subscribe" above.
Click "Harold Nolte" at the top of this page for over 400 articles on Using Computers.