A new computer tip every day for a year
Day 84 / 365
The recycle bin is like a “trash can” for your computer. When you delete a file, it is placed in the recycle bin in case you decide you shouldn’t have deleted the file. The recycle bin sits quietly in the background saving files you have deleted and makes those files available again if you decide you still need them.
When deleting files from your computer, the files automatically get moved into the recycle bin. Note that the recycle bin can be configured to permanently remove files, but the default is to keep them. You don’t have to worry about them unless you need them again.
If you decide you want to get a file back that was deleted, open the recycle bin, select the file you want to recover and select recover from recycle bin’s file menu.
Recovering favorites in Internet Explorer
If you have deleted favorites from Internet Explorer, they are also in the recycle bin. You can recover them just like any other file. Just go to the recycle bin, find the shortcut and restore it.
Come back soon for another tip in this 365-tip series.
Get notified every time I write an article. Sign up by clicking "+Subscribe" above.
Click "Harold Nolte" at the top of this page for over 400 articles on Using Computers.