A new computer tip every day for a year
Day 83 / 365
Article one in this series on the recycle bin. Go to the next article.
In earlier days, computers weren’t very forgiving. When you deleted a file, it was gone. Utilities were available to “undelete” files, but they had to be purchased separately and they only worked if the deleted file’s contents were still intact (no new data was written over it).
Apple’s earlier graphical interfaces used a trash can icon. Files that were deleted could be “dragged into the trash” or “pulled out of the trash” and used again. Microsoft did a similar thing in Windows and called it the recycle bin.
The recycle bin is a handy utility. Whenever you delete a file, folder, or group of files, the deleted items are automatically placed in the recycle bin (note: be careful – this is the default action, but it can be changed). If you accidentally delete files or folders, they can be recovered easily. The recycle bin is configurable. Settings can be changed to make the recycle bin act differently.
The idea of a trash can or a recycle bin is the same as your wastepaper can by your desk. When you delete a file, you don’t delete it permanently; it is placed in the recycle bin, just like putting a piece of paper in the trash can by your desk. If you realize you need the file (or the paper in the trash can) you can still get it until you empty the recycle bin (or the janitor comes by and empties the trash can.
It is good to know about the recycle bin and how it works. If you can’t find a file you knew you had before, be sure to check the recycle bin. If it was deleted, chances are it is there.
Come back soon for another tip in this 365-tip series.
Get notified every time I write an article. Sign up by clicking "+Subscribe" above.
Click "Harold Nolte" at the top of this page for over 350 articles on Using Computers.