Skip to main content
Report this ad

See also:

Over thirty Authors at the 2014 San Mateo Fair Author’s Day

Laurel Anne Hill, steampunk author
Courtesy of Laurel Anne Hill

This year the San Mateo County Fair’s Literary Stage will be home to over forty events, including readings, book launches, presentations about writing, interviews, music and the Author Day group book signing that take place this weekend between 2 p.m. and 4 p.m. on Saturday. June 14, 2014. The San Mateo County Fairgrounds are located at 2495 S. Delaware St in San Mateo, California.

Laurel Anne Hill is a stage manager for the Literary Stage at the Fair, one of the volunteers from California Writers Club San Francisco/Peninsula Branch who assist the Fair’s Literary Director Bardi Rosman Koodrin each year.
“To say I’m excited about the upcoming fair,” said Hill “would be a gross understatement.”

On June 14, she will host readings of speculative fiction (1-2 p.m.) participate in the book signings (2-4 p.m.), and give a presentation about writing: Writing—Even Steampunk—Should Not “Ship Broken” (4-5 p.m.).

One of the authors who will participate in the book readings at 1 p.m. and signings at 2 p.m. is award winning local author and poet Rain Graves. The Four Elements by Linda Addison, Rain Graves, Charlee Jacob, and Marge Simon won the 2013 Bram Stoker Award for Superior Achievement in Poetry. Graves also won the 2002 Bram Stoker Award for Best Poetry Collection for The Gossamer Eye along with Mark McLaughlin and David Niall Wilson,

"I love the San Mateo County Fair and their commitment to bringing literature and reading to fair attendees. I am thrilled to be a part of Author's Day," said Graves

The list of authors at the book signing at the Literary Stage in the Expo Hall at the San Mateo Fair for Author’s Day includes Beth & Ezra Barany, Rita Beach, Jacqueline Berger, Karen Blake, Loretta Breuning, Michael Burwen, Kalamu Chaché, Robert Davis, Darlene Frank, Valerie Frankel, Caroline Goodwin, Rain Graves, James Hanna, Holly Harman, Laurel Anne Hill, Michele Jessen, Marjorie B. Johnson, Audrey Kalman, Ellaraine Lockie, C. Sanford Lowe, FM Kahren, Claire Mack, Arlene Miller, Elise F. Miller, Sue Oksanen, JL Powers, Emerian Rich, Sandra Saidak, Sumiko Saulson, and David Wolf.

Nine of these authors will participate in the speculative fiction reading, Beth Barany, Ezra Barany, Robert Davis, Rain Graves, Marjorie B. Johnson, C. Sanford Lowe, Emerian Rich, Sandra Saidak and Sumiko Saulson.

Report this ad