Skip to main content
Report this ad

See also:

Over $2 million worth of speeding tickets voided in Nassau

Nassau County Executive Ed Mangano has declared amnesty to drivers mistakenly fined for speeding in school zones within the last month..
Photo by Steven Henry/Getty Images

Nassau County, NY Executive Ed Mangano has effectively torn up $2.4 million worth of traffic tickets after it was discovered that speed cameras malfunctioned at 6 school locations, creating an uproar among drivers who were falsely fined.

Although the county had installed the mobile cameras outside of Abbey Lane ElementarySchool in Levittown, Hickville High School, Franklin Elementary in Hempstead, Harold D. Fayette Elementary School in North Merrick and Plainedge Middle Schoolin Bethpage, as well as the Dutch Broadway school in Elmont, on July 24th, the system was not supposed to “spit out” tickets when the schools were not in session. As a result of the error 30,108 (supposedly valid) tickets were issued at these locations, totaling more than $2 million. In addition, Brian Nevin, a spokesman for Mr. Mangano’s office acknowledged that an addition 9,807 tickets were issued by mistake because of incorrect enforcement dates amounting to another $784,560 in fines. These included 2,130 tickets incorrectly issued from mobile cameras that mistakenly recorded non-applicable hours or days of the week as well as 7,676 tickets from fixed camera locations where summer schools had ended before the program “went live.”

As a result, drivers already ticketed have been granted “amnesty.” Those who have already paid the $80 cost ($50 for each ticket plus a $30 administration fee) will receive refunds. In the meantime, the County has contacted American Traffic Solutions, the Tempe, AZ company hired to operate the speed cameras, and is due to receive 38% of all fines and penalties collected by Nassau. There is no word as to whether they will also be required to refund their share of the collected ticket revenue.

The speed cameras will resume operation on the first day of school in each district. At present the following 33 out of the 56 school zones in Nassau County are being fitted with permanent cameras, while the remaining zones are still under review.

St. Christopher School, Baldwin; Merrick Avenue. Middle School, Merrick; Charles Campagne School, Bethpage; East Meadow High School; Dutch Broadway School, Elmont; John Street School, Franklin Square; Woodmere Middle School; Our Lady of Mercy School, Hicksville; Island Trees Middle School, Levittown; Cantiague Elementary School, Jericho; General Douglas MacArthur High School, Levittown; Lido Elementary School, Lido Beach; Shelter Rock Elementary, North Hills; Unqua Elementary, E. Massapequa; ChatteronSchool, Merrick; New Hyde Park Road School; New Hyde Park; Camp Avenue School, N. Merrick; Schwarting Elementary, N. Massapequa; Parkway School, Plainview; Centennial Avenue School, Roosevelt; Harbor Hill School, Greenvale; Seaford High School; Baylis Elementary, Plainview; West Hempstead High School; St. Brigid/Our Lady of Hope School, Westbury; Garden City High School; William A. Shine Great Neck South High School; Malvern Sernior High; Newbridge Road School, Bellmore; St. Peter of Alcantara School, Pt. Washington; Turtle Hook Middle School, Uniondale; and North Shore Middle School in Glenwood Landing.

Report this ad