Skip to main content
Report this ad

See also:

Orlando City wins 3rd USL PRO regular season title, sets US record

Orlando City wins 3rd regular season title
Orlando City wins 3rd regular season title
Orlando City SC

Wednesday night, Orlando City SC won its third USL PRO regular season title and second consecutive Commissioner's Cup, and subsequently secured home field advantage for the playoffs. In its final season as members of USL PRO, Orlando City (18-4-5, 59 points) earned the honor by drawing the Wilmington Hammerheads (8-7-11, 35 points) 0-0 at Legion Stadium in Wilmington, NC.

“I’m absolutely delighted, for not just the players, but also for the front office and everyone associated with the Club," said Head Coach Adrian Heath. "It’s been a monumental season, and despite everything going on in the background this year, the players remained focused to win the title seven points clear with one game remaining. It speaks volumes for everyone associated with the organization.”

Orlando City Soccer Club is MLS’s newest expansion team. The club will begin play in MLS in 2015, becoming the league’s 21st club. The Lions’ first team has won two USL PRO regular season titles and two postseason championships. OCSC also has a youth club, Orlando City Youth Soccer and a U-23 team that participates in the PDL.

On Sunday, Orlando City played its 100th USL PRO match and entered the U.S. soccer record books by compiling an incredible 66-12-22 record – the best record of any professional U.S. soccer team in its first 100 league games – including an astounding 44-4-10 record at home. During the 100 matches, the Lions scored a whopping 192 goals.

Orlando City returns to ESPN Wide World of Sports for its final regular season match on September 6. Kick-off is scheduled for 7:30 p.m. ET.

Wednesday line-ups:
Orlando City SC – GK Carl Woszczynski, D Rafael Ramos, Tommy Redding, Rob Valentino, Bryan Burke (Justin Clark 77’), M Estrela, Aodhan Quinn (Brian Span 61’), Harrison Heath, Adama Mbengue, Kevin Molino, F Giuseppe Gentile (Dennis Chin 68’)

Wilmington Hammerheads – GK Brad Stuver, D Tom Parratt, Ross Tomaselli, Drew Ruggles, Paul Nicholson, M Christian Davidson, Brian Ackley, Troy Cole, Corben Bone, Mark-Anthony Kaye, F Cody Arnoux


Report this ad