Skip to main content

See also:

One Found Sound will return to Salle Pianos for their second concert

An "external view" of One Found Sound's debut concert
An "external view" of One Found Sound's debut concert
from their Web site

Last September I wrote about One Found Sound, a recent addition to those chamber orchestras that perform without a conductor and operate as a democratic and collaborative group with no single leader. The ensemble gave its debut at Salle Pianos on October 3 with a program whose resources ranged from the octet that Igor Stravinsky composed for wind instruments to Ludwig van Beethoven’s Opus 67 symphony in C minor (the fifth). Next month they will return to Salle Pianos for their second concert, whose program will focus entirely on the first half of the twentieth century.

The most interesting selection is likely to be the original score that Aaron Copland composed for Martha Graham’s pioneering work of modern dance, “Appalachian Spring,” first performed at the Library of Congress in 1944. Copland wrote this for a “pit orchestra” consisting of only thirteen performers; and the score has a transparency that is not as pronounced in the orchestral suite that Copland subsequently prepared. The suite also omits the hellfire-and-brimstone sermon delivered by the preacher (a role originally danced by Merce Cunningham), presumably because Copland thought it was not “musical” enough.

The program will also include a suite extracted from a score for a ballet first performed by Sergei Diaghilev’s Ballets Russes in 1920. The ballet in this case is “Pulcinella;” and both the original score and the subsequent suite were composed by Igor Stravinsky. While the full score was scored for orchestra and three vocalists, the suite includes only instrumental movements. The remaining selection on the program will be the Adagietto movement from Gustav Mahler’s fifth symphony in C-sharp minor. Although the full symphony requires resources far beyond those of a chamber orchestra, the Adagietto (the fourth and shortest movement) requires only the string section and a harp.

This performance will take place at 8 p.m. on Friday, February 7. Salle Pianos is located on the edge of Hayes Valley at 1632 C Market Street. Doors will open at 7:30 p.m., and wine and light snacks will be provided for all attendees. Admission will be by donation. The suggested donation amount will be between $20 and $30 per person, with a special rate of $15 for students.