Skip to main content
  1. AXS Entertainment
  2. Arts & Entertainment
  3. Movies

Old Man's War by John Scalzi, sci-fi of yesterday written today


 

“I did two things on my seventy-fifth birthday. I visited my wife’s grave. Then I joined the army.” So begins John Scalzi's Old Man’s War, a Hugo nominated novel that follows in the tradition of Robert A. Heinlein's Starship Troopers and Joe Haldeman's The Forever War; thought provoking military science-fiction. Writing old school Golden Age science-fiction with a modern sensibility, Scalzi extrapolates today’s technology to the next few levels with concepts like BrainPals (iPhone in your head doesn’t quite describe it) and genetically and nanobot enhanced super soldiers. And the aliens are truly alien, not just a version of Earth culture with a weird forehead.

Scalzi is one of the reasons aspiring writers are told to start blogging. His blog, Whatever, has been up since 1998. In 2002 he posted Old Man’s War to read for free. Three years later Tor Books had acquired it and published the hardback. Six more of his novels have been published since, with two more Hugo nominations. Winning the John W. Campbell Award for Best New Writer in 2005, Scalzi continues blogging on his website as well as about science-fiction on AMCtv.com's Sci-Fi Scanner. With his non-fiction titles like The Rough Guide to Sci-Fi Movies and blog post collections like Your Hate Mail Will Be Graded, the man has been busy.

His blogs are worth your time, his books worth your time and money. So check out John Scalzi!
 

Comments

Advertisement

Today's top buzz...

  • Jack White
    Reddit users have fun photoshopping an angry Jack White at a Cubs game
    Music Buzz
  • Kliff Kingsbury
    Kliff Kingsbury reads a series of flattering tweets praising his good looks
    Video
    Today's Buzz
  • Jamaal Charles
    Kansas City Chiefs make Jamaal Charles the second highest paid running back in NFL
    NFL Buzz
  • Slash
    Slash and The Conspirators crush it at Hard Rock, AP Awards
    Camera
    20 Photos
  • Monks of Mellonwah
    Exclusive interview: Monks of Mellonwah talk music, touring and more
    Camera
    9 Photos
  • Nikki Bella
    How will fans react if the WWE decides to turn Nikki Bella into a heel?
    Camera
    5 Photos