Skip to main content
  1. Sports
  2. College Sports

Oklahoma State recruit Chance Marsteller 2014 Dave Schultz National winner

See also

Chance Marsteller, four-time Pennsylvania high school state champ who has committed to wrestle at Oklahoma State, has been selected as the 2014 Dave Schultz High School Excellence National winner, the National Wrestling Hall of Fame announced Tuesday.

Marsteller, a senior from Kennard-Dale High School in Fawn Grove, Pa., was selected from the 49 state winners and five regional winners that were announced by the Stillwater, Okla.-based amateur wrestling hall May 6.

The future Cowboy beat out fellow regional honorees Penn State recruits Bo Nickal and Nick Nevills, future Buckeye Micah Jordan, and Cornell recruit Brandon Womack for the national award.

The High School Excellence Award is named in honor of the late Olympic and World Champion Dave Schultz. Each award recipient is evaluated on excellence in wrestling, scholastic achievement, character, citizenship, and community service.

Marsteller is a four-time Pennsylvania high school state champion, who earned the Outstanding Wrestler Award three times at the event. He compiled a perfect 166-0 record in high school. He has earned a number of honors, having been recently named the 2014 American Family Insurance ALL-USA Wrestler of the Year by USAToday, as well as InterMat’s 2014 High School Wrestler of the Year. Off the mat, Marsteller carried a 3.33 GPA (grade point average).

“I am very honored to have been nominated for the Dave Schultz award,” Marsteller said. “When it comes to wrestling greats, one of the most remembered was Dave Schultz, on and off the mat. Growing up, I always heard stories of his work ethic and what a great person he was off the mat. In turn, to receive this award is truly humbling and a great way to cap off my senior year of high school.”

Marsteller had originally made a verbal commitment to wrestle at Penn State, but changed his mind last November, signing a letter of intent to wrestle for the Oklahoma State Cowboys, where he is projected to wrestle at 174 pounds.

The Dave Schultz High School Excellence National Award has been presented to top high school seniors since 1996. Among the honorees who went on to win NCAA titles in their collegiate careers: Ohio State’s Logan Stieber (2010), Penn State’s David Taylor (2009), and Steve Mocco, who wrestled at University of Iowa and Oklahoma State (2001).

Doi winner of first Tricia Saunders award

Marina Doi, a senior at Kinsgburg High School in California, is the winner of the inaugural Tricia Saunders High School Excellence Award, the National Wrestling Hall of Fame announced Tuesday.

Doi is a two-time California Interscholastic Federation state champion, winning titles in 2012 and 2014. In the classroom, she maintained a perfect 4.0 GPA. She will attend King University in Bristol, Tenn. this fall.

“I am very honored to be selected as the recipient for the first ever Tricia Saunders High School Excellence Award” Doi said. “Tricia Saunders was the most accomplished female US wrestler and she has inspired so many female wrestlers to follow in her footsteps. I am so grateful that I was able to meet and learn from her at a developmental camp in Phoenix, Ariz., in December of 2013. Receiving this award means so much to me, and it makes me realize how much women’s wrestling is still growing.”