Skip to main content
Report this ad

See also:

Oklahoma Sooners Lon Kruger named Big 12 coach of the year

Lon Kruger named Big 12 coach of the year
Photo by Ed Zurga/Getty Images

The last time the Oklahoma Sooners made it to the March Madness basketball tournament, Blake Griffin played for the team. Now, Lon Kruger has his Sooners headed back to the college basketball tournament and OU tweeted out on March 10 that Kruger won the Big 12 AP Coach of the Year award.

Next to Iowa State Cyclones head coach Fred Hoiberg, no one deserved it more than Kruger, who has his Sooners heading into the Big 12 tournament as the second seed with a 23-8 record. This is Kurger’s fourth Coach of the Year award. He also won in 2008 with the UNLV Rebels and in 1992 and 1994 with the Florida Gators.

This season also marked the first time that the Oklahoma Sooners swept both their biggest rivals, the Oklahoma State Cowboys and Texas Longhorns, in the same Big 12 season. The Sooners also accomplished all this without a marquee future NBA star on the roster, meaning it was all based on Kruger’s coaching.

Buddy Hield was a second team All-Big 12 player of the year while Cameron Clark and Ryan Spangler were honorable mentions.

Iowa State’s Melvin Ejim won the Big 12 Player of the Year award while the Kansas Jayhawks Andrew Wiggins won Freshman of the Year and Iowa State’s DeAndre Kane won Newcomer of the Year.

Report this ad