Skip to main content
  1. Arts & Entertainment
  2. Celebrity

O- Town sets album release date

See also

After nearly a decade long hiatus from music and the boy band world, O-Town, of MTV's "Making the Band" fame, has released a single. The forthcoming album is slated to be released in August, entitled "Lines and Circles." The first song we have heard off of the album is entitled Skydive. It seems like the boys have never left the scene, since their music still carries the same sound. The song is whiny at best, with riffs that bring you back to your swooning teenage years.

The question is can a band formed in the early 2000's compete with today's musical superstars? While there was a "time" for boy bands, currently we have a fading Justin Bieber, pot-smoking One Direction, and a chart- topping Ariana Grande. Let's face it, we are living in the age of female powerhouse pop. With names like Katy Perry, Beyonce, and Miley Cyrus, women are giving the men a run for their money. O-Town's market has obviously changed. While The Backstreet Boys and New Kids on the Block have revived with their time machine fan base, it may be much harder for O-Town to do the same. Justin Timberlake is about the best in the biz. He broke away from 'NSync at a perfect time, and made it, but it's hard to believe that a band who has remained relatively unknown over a long stretch of time can be revived.


Arts & Entertainment

  • Jack White
    Watch as Jack White covers Jay Z at the Forecastle Music Festival
  • Jay Z and Beyonce
    See how the rumors about Jay Z and Beyoncé splitting up came about
    Celebrity Buzz
  • Comic-Con
    San Diego Comic-Con 2014 exclusives: Entertainment Earth
    20 Photos
  • Paul McCartney
    Take an exclusive look at Paul McCartney's soundcheck before a recent show
    20 Photos
  • Katy Perry
    Watch Katy Perry transform from pop princess to one of the world's hottest women
    19 Photos
  • Philip Seymour Hoffman
    Find out why Philip Seymour Hoffman left his children out of his will
    Today's Buzz