Skip to main content
Report this ad

See also:

O'Neal and Dale Brown to be inducted in Collegiate Basketball Hall of Fame

Shaquille O'Neal
Photo by Ronald Martinez/Getty Images

The National Collegiate Basketball Hall of Fame has included LSU's Shaquille O'Neal and his former head coach Dale Brown in this year's class of new inductees into the National Collegiate Basketball Hall of Fame according to a news report on Tuesday, March 25, 2014.

O'Neal and Brown together led the Tigers to two Final Four appearances and four Southeastern Conference championships.

O'Neal's years and performances at LSU go down in history as some of the best times in LSU basketball history. His statistics are among the highest, if not the highest for any LSU basketball player in the school's history.

O'Neal was the National Player of the Year in his sophomore year and SEC Player of the Year as a sophomore and junior. O'Neal also earned first team All-American in his sophomore and junior years.

Dale Brown served as the head coach for the basketball team at LSU for 25 years. He won 60% of the games during his tenure at LSU and was named the National Coach of the Year in 1981. Brown won four SEC championships and was also named SEC Coach of the Year four times.

O'Neal and Brown will be inducted into the Collegiate Hall of Fame on November 23, 2014 at the Arvest Bank Theatre at the Midland in Kansas City. They will be joining other LSU athletes such as Bob Pettit (2006), Pete Maravich (2006), Tex Winter (2010) and Joe Dean, Sr. (2012) that have also earned Collegiate Hall of Fame status.

Report this ad