Skip to main content
Report this ad

See also:

NWSL 2014 allocation list announced

U.S. Women's National team stirker, Christen Press will join Chicago Red Stars as an allocated player.
Photo by Frederick Breedon/Getty Images

The National Women’s Soccer League announced its official list of allocated players for the 2014 season on Friday, January 3, 2014. A total of 50 allocated National Team player salaries will be subsidized by US Soccer, Canadian Soccer Association and the Federation of Mexican Football.

Allocation can be confusing but it’s a necessity of fairness for this young league with a new expansion team (Houston Dash).

Each team is allowed three American allocated players and two each Canadian and Mexican players. The countries decide which players are considered for allocation. It’s confusing because there are a handful of players who today are considered allocated that were not last season and visa versa.

While the allocations have been set, team rosters will not be complete until after the Houston Dash expansion draft on Friday, January 10, college draft on January 19 and various trade periods end.

Here is the allocated players list per team:

Boston Breakers
Meghan Klingenberg (USA)*
Kristie Mewis (USA)
Heather O'Reilly (USA)
Chelsea Stewart (CAN)*
Kaylyn Kyle (CAN)
Dinora Garza (MEX)

Chicago Red Stars
Shannon Boxx (USA)
Amy LePeilbet (USA)
Christen Press (USA)*
Adriana Leon (CAN)
Erin McLeod (CAN)
Rachel Quon (CAN)*

Houston Dash
Whitney Engen (USA)*
Melissa Tancredi (CAN)*
Teresa Noyola (MEX)

FC Kansas City
Nicole Barnhart (USA)
Lauren Holiday (USA)
Amy Rodriguez (USA)
Becky Sauerbrunn (USA)
Desiree Scott (CAN)
Lauren Sesselmann (CAN)
Cecilia Santiago (MEX)

Portland Thorns FC
Rachel Buehler (USA)
Tobin Heath (USA)
Alex Morgan (USA)
Christine Sinclair (CAN)
Karina LeBlanc (CAN)
Jackie Acevedo (MEX)*

Seattle Reign FC
Stephanie Cox (USA)*
Sydney Leroux (USA)
Megan Rapinoe (USA)
Hope Solo (USA)
Carmelina Moscato (CAN)
Arianna Romero (MEX)*

Sky Blue FC
Jill Loyden (USA)
Kelley O'Hara (USA)
Christie Rampone (USA)
Jonelle Filigno (CAN)*
Sophie Schmidt (CAN)
Monica Ocampo (MEX)

Washington Spirit
Yael Averbuch (USA)*
Ashlyn Harris (USA)
Ali Krieger (USA)
Robyn Gayle (CAN)
Diana Matheson (CAN)
Renae Cuellar (MEX)

Western New York Flash
Carli Lloyd (USA)
Abby Wambach (USA)
Selenia Iacchelli (CAN)*
Veronica Perez (MEX)

The NWSL will announce the complete list of "protected" and "unprotected" players on Wednesday, January 8. Each team will be able to protect a number of players from Houston Dash's expansion draft picks later this week.

A “protected” player is a player who is not eligible to be drafted by Houston in the Expansion Draft. All other players are “unprotected” and are eligible to be drafted by Houston.

Any club with more than two U.S. allocated players must leave at least one U.S. allocated player unprotected.

Keep updated by following @NWSL_Examiner on Twitter!

*New Allocated Player

Report this ad