Skip to main content
  1. AXS Entertainment
  2. Sports
  3. Fight Sports

NWA wrestling news: World Championship changes hands in Japan

See also

The NWA World Championship changed hands in Japan for the first time 2002 when Satoshi Kojima beat “Ironman” Rob Conway. According to Wrestle View on Jan. 4, the title change happened at the New Japan Pro Wrestling's "Wrestle Kingdom 8" event.

The last time the NWA World Championship changed hands in Japan was in 2002 when Dan "The Beast" Severn beat Shinya Hashimoto. That was Severn's second title reign, which he soon forfeited when TNA Wrestling entered an agreement with the NWA to defend their title in the new promotion.

The title remained in TNA Wrestling until 2007 when they chose to break off from the NWA and crown their own champion. The NWA World Championship was revived in 2007 when Adam Pearce won the title and the NWA became a solid governing force in wrestling again.

This is the same title that was held by men like Harley Race. "Nature Boy" Ric Flair, Ricky "The Dragon" Steamboat and Lou Thesz. When Triple H was talking on WWE television about the history of their World Championship, he was referencing the title lineage of this same NWA World Championship that has nothing to do with the WWE.

Rob Conway won the NWA World Championship from Toyko Monster Kahagas at the NWA Branded Outlaw Wrestling show in March 2013. Kahgas had held the title since winning an elimination match in NWA DAWG in November 2012 after Pearce surrendered the title and left the NWA.

NWA legend Harley Race was in attendance in Japan to award the NWA World Championship to Satoshi Kojima. While Conway is no longer the NWA World Champion, he is still one-half of the NWA World Tag Team Champions with Jax Dane.


Today's top buzz...

  • Coachella
    The set times you need to know have been announced for Coachella
    Festival Buzz
  • Lamar Odom
    The New York Knicks are giving Lamar Odom another shot in the NBA
    NBA Buzz
  • Porsha Williams
    See why 'Real Housewives of Atlanta' star Porsha Williams posed for this mug shot
    TV News
  • NHL tickets
    If you're looking to catch an NHL playoff game in NYC, don't expect to do so on a budget
    NHL Buzz
  • Transcendence
    Review: ‘Transcendence’ fascinates, but does it rise above the field?
    Movies Buzz
  • Kobe Bryant
    Kobe Bryant has agreed to cooperate with an all-access documentary about his life
    Sports Buzz

User login

Log in
Sign in with your email and password. Or reset your password.
Write for us
Interested in becoming an Examiner and sharing your experience and passion? We're always looking for quality writers. Find out more about and apply today!