Skip to main content
Report this ad

See also:

Northwestern to Host Meet the Team Friday Night

Northwestern Meet the Team Night is Friday at 6pm.
Photo by Tasos Katopodis/Getty Images

Northwestern will hold their annual meet the team night on Friday August 22 at 6pm. The event gives NU fans the opportunity to mingle with the players and the opportunity to play on the field.

The players will be gathered on Ryan Field by position. Fans will have the opportunity to talk to the players, get their autographs and play catch and games with them.

According to the NUSports.Com website the fans will have the opportunity to;

Young Wildcats fans are encouraged to play catch, kick field goals, take pictures and run races on Ryan Field in tandem with members of Chicago's Big Ten Team.

The event is scheduled to last until 8pm. Concessions are usually available and parking is free.

Among the items available for fans will be the first chance to obtain the 2014 official schedule poster.

This event to drum up support and get the fans closer to the team is important after a tough week last week. Running Back Venric Mark announced he'd transfer and Wide Receiver Christian Jones was lost for the season with a knee injury

After a down year last year, head coach Pat Fitzgerald hopes to get Northwestern back to a bowl game this season. The wildcats have a five years bowl streak snapped in 2013.

Fitzgerald and Athletic Director Jim Phillips are likely to speak.

The unveiling of the captains are also expected. Senior Center Brandon Vitabile was the only captain that was not a senior last season

Speaking after the meet the team night in 2013, Fitzgerald said;

"One of our program's great traditions is having our players vote for their team captains at the conclusion of spring ball, summer workouts and nearly a month of training camp," Fitzgerald said. "They have identified five great young men, all of whom are members of our Leadership Council and who have been instrumental in preparing our team, to this point, for the season. Now these five captains have the honor of officially being in that leadership position as we attempt to reach our goals this year.

Report this ad