Skip to main content
  1. AXS Entertainment
  2. Arts & Entertainment
  3. Movies

Nominees announced for 45th NAACP Image Awards

See also

The nominees for the 45th annual NAACP Image Awards were announced on Thursday Jan. 9 by film and television actors KeKe Palmer, Gina Torres, Bresha Webb, Joe Morton and David Oyelowo. The announcement took place at TV One’s presentation at the TCA tour in Pasadena, California.

Palmer’s hit movie “CrazySexyCool: The TLC Story” is among the nominees in the Outstanding Television Movie, Mini-Series or Dramatic Special category. The film faces “Being Mary Jane”, “Muhammad Ali’s Greatest Fight”, “Luther” and “Betty & Coretta”. The former child star is also a nominee in the Oustanding Actress in a Television Movie, Mini-Series or Dramatic Special category where she will compete against Angela Bassett ( “Betty & Coretta”, “American Horror Story: Coven”), Gabrielle Union (“Being Mary Jane”) and Gabourey Sidibie (“American Horror Story: Coven”).

As for the Oustanding Actor in a Television Movie, Mini-Series or Dramatic Special category, Omari Hardwick (“Being Mary Jane”) will take on Danny Glover (“Muhammad Ali’s Greatest Fight”), Idris Elba (“Luther”), Chiwetel Ejiofor (“Dancing on the Edge”) and Malik Yoba (“Betty & Coretta”).

Leading with 17 nominations in the film category is The Weinstein Company. Their movies “Fruitvale Station”, “Mandela: Long Walk to Freedom” and “Lee Daniels’ The Butler” are nominated in the Outstanding Motion Picture category with Fox Searchlight’s “12 Years a Slave” and Universal’s “The Best Man Holiday”.

Vying for Outstanding Actor in a Motion Picture are nominees Idris Elba (“Mandela: Long Walk to Freedom”), Chadwick Boseman (“42”), Michael B. Jordan (“Fruitvale Station”), Chiwetel Ejiofor (“12 Years a Slave”) and Forest Whitaker (“Lee Daniels’ The Butler”).

Angela Bassett (“Black Nativity”), Jennifer Hudson (“Winnie Mandela”), Halle Berry (“The Call”), Kerry Washington (“Peeples”) and Nicole Behaire (“42”) round out the nominees in the Outstanding Actress in a Motion Picture category.

In the Oustanding Supporting Actor in a Motion Picture category “Best Man Holiday” co-stars Morris Chestnut and Terrence Howard take on Howard’s “Lee Daniels’ The Butler” castmates David Oyelowo and Cuba Gooding Jr.

“12 Years a Slave’s” Lupita, Nyong’o and Alfre Woodard will face Oprah Winfrey (“Lee Daniels’ The Butler"), Naomie Harris (“Mandela: Long Walk to Freedom”) and Octavia Spencer (“Fruitvale Station”) in the Outstanding Supporting Actress in a Motion Picture category.

The Outstanding Independent Motion Picture nominees are “Fruitvale Station”, “Blue Caprice”, The Dallas Buyers Club”, “The Trials of Muhammad Ali” and “The Inevitable Defeat of Mister and Pete”.

Steve McQueen (“12 Years a Slave”), Lee Daniels (“The Butler”), Malcolm D. Lee (“The Best Man Holiday”), Jono Oliver (“Home”) and Justin Chadwick (“Mandela: Long Walk to Freedom”) are the nominees in the category for Outstanding Directing in a Motion Picture.

HBO has two entries in the Outstanding Documentary Television category. “Beyonce: Life is But a Dream” and “Whoopi Goldberg Present Moms Mabley” will compete against “Venus Vs.", “Dark Girls” and "Richard Pryor: Omit the Logic”.

As for Outstanding Theatrical Documentary, “Free Angela and All Political Prisoners”, “Girl Rising”, “20 Feet From Stardom”, “The New Black” and “Call Me Kuchu” are the nominees.

The 2014 NAACP Image Awards which recognizes achievement in film, music, television and literature will air on TV One Saturday, Feb. 22 at 9 p.m. ET. You can view the complete list of Image Award nominees at the NAACP website.