Skip to main content

Nominations being accepted for innovation awards

TechColumbus, a public/private organization promoting tech-driven economic growth in Central Ohio, is soliciting nominations for their 2010 Innovation Awards.  This annual competition recognizes individuals and organizations that made significant contributions to Central Ohio's economic growth this year.

There are multiple awards for both companies and individuals, including:

  • Outstanding start-up business (a company in business for less than five years that has received outside funding, or has at least one commercially-available product or service)
  • Outstanding Products and Services:  two awards each for products and services, for large (over 50 employees) and small companies.
  • Outstanding Technology Team (two or more people from the same organization)
  • Minority-owned enterprise
  • Green Innovation (product or service in commercial use, or implemented a technology or process with a net positive impact on the environment)
  • Non-profit service delivery innovation
  • Executive of the Year (two awards for large and small companies)
  • Outstanding Woman in Technology
  • Inventor of the Year (no time period applies)

In a separate competition, there are two student awards (presented in conjunction with COSI) for 2009 high school students.  Each winner will receive a $2,500 college savings account.

Last year, TechColumbus received more than 175 nominations for these awards.  Among the 13 winners was EXCMR, named the Outstanding Start-Up Business of 2008, and Phillip Eggers, named Inventor of the Year.  EXCMR makes the first MRI-compatible treadmill for real-time cardio-vascular imaging while the body is under stress.  Eggers heads Dublin-based Cardiox, which has created a non-invasive test for congenital heart problems.

Eligible individuals and companies must be headquartered or operating substantially in Central Ohio, and in the IT, life sciences, materials or logistics industries.  For more information on the categories – or to nominate an individual or company - visit the Innovation Awards website.