Skip to main content
  1. Arts & Entertainment
  2. Books

NM/AZ Book Awards Adds Spanish Language Category

See also

The New Mexico/Arizona Book Awards has added a Spanish-language category to their 2012 contest and extended the deadline for entries at discounted fees until Thursday, March 15, 2012.

The Latin American Professional Speakers Association is sponsoring the new Spanish-language category, which will have special judges who are qualifed to judge for the category.

The awards program, already prestigious as the New Mexico Book Awards, has been extended to Arizona authors as a result of mergine of New Mexico and Arizona book organizations. The expanded awards program is the largest in the Southwest.

Eligible books include books written by New Mexico or Arizona authors as well as books set in New Mexico or Arizona and books published by New Mexico or Arizona publishers. All books entered in the 2012 contest must have been published since July 10, 2012.

Entry deadline is July 12, 2012. The usual entry fee is $45 per book per category, with an "early bird" discount of $12. The discount is now available until March 15, 2012, even if you use an entry form with the old date. Full details on the contest and an entry form may be downloaded here.

The New Mexico/Arizona Book Awards are a program of the New Mexico/Arizona Book Co-op, which holds monthly meetingsin Albuquerque that are open to anyone interested in the New Mexico publishing industry. For full information on their meetings, click here.



Arts & Entertainment

  • Ted Nugent
    Ted Nugent concert at Native American casino canceled because of obvious reasons
  • Mila Kunis
    Odd couples: You won't believe some of these celebrity hookups
    Celebrity Buzz
  • Music festivals
    150 years of major American music festivals are rooted in Rhode Island
    17 Photos
  • Billy Corgan
    Billy Corgan receives Vanguard Awards at AMPAs in Cleveland
    13 Photos
  • Celebrity tattoos
    We're not sure what some of these celebrities were thinking when they decided to get inked
    23 Photos
  • John Stamos
    John Stamos talks about love, life and being tired of Uncle Jesse
    Today's Buzz