Skip to main content
  1. AXS Entertainment
  2. Sports
  3. Soccer

Nigeria and Ghana through to FIFA U-20 Women's World Cup Canada 2014

See also

Two more teams from Africa qualified this weekend for the FIFA U-20 Women's World Cup Canada 2014.

Nigeria earned a berth on Saturday and Ghana punched its ticket on Sunday in the African qualifiers.

The Nigerians qualified after winning both games in a series with South Africa, including the 1-0 win on Saturday afternoon. Nigeria has now qualified for all seven editions of the FIFA U-20 Women's World Cup dating back to the inaugural tournament in 2002.

Ghana qualified after winning its series over Equatorial Guinea. After a 1-0 loss on the road two weeks ago, Ghana won 1-0 at home on Sunday. The series was decided on penalty kicks, with Ghana prevailing 4-3. Ghana has now qualified for three consecutive editions of the event dating back to 2010.

Thirteen of 16 teams have now qualified for the competition.

Four teams are fighting for two berths in South America until Jan. 31 while four more teams will shoot for one spot in Oceania from Feb. 18-22.

The squads remaining in South America are Bolivia, Brazil, Colombia and Paraguay.

The four sides playing in the Oceania zone are New Zealand, Papua New Guinea, Tonga and Vanuatu.

The official draw for the FIFA U-20 Women's World Cup Canada 2014 will take place on March 1. At the draw, the 16 teams will be divided into four groups, with host Canada already seeded as A1.

The competition runs from Aug. 5-24 in Edmonton, Toronto, Montreal and Moncton. The 32-match biennial tournament is the premier event for women's youth footballers.

FIFA U-20 Women’s World Cup Canada


Today's top buzz...

  • Jack White
    Reddit users have fun photoshopping an angry Jack White at a Cubs game
    Music Buzz
  • Kliff Kingsbury
    Kliff Kingsbury reads a series of flattering tweets praising his good looks
    Today's Buzz
  • Jamaal Charles
    Kansas City Chiefs make Jamaal Charles the second highest paid running back in NFL
    NFL Buzz
  • Slash
    Slash and The Conspirators crush it at Hard Rock, AP Awards
    20 Photos
  • Monks of Mellonwah
    Exclusive interview: Monks of Mellonwah talk music, touring and more
    9 Photos
  • Nikki Bella
    How will fans react if the WWE decides to turn Nikki Bella into a heel?
    5 Photos