Skip to main content
  1. Sports
  2. General Sports

NHL teams with the most Stanley Cup wins

See also

The following is a list of the NHL teams that have won the Stanley Cup the most times since the NHL was formed in 1917-18. As noted below, a couple of these teams also won the Stanley Cup prior to being in the NHL.

The two teams at the top of this list of Stanley Cup winners have both had pretty long droughts since their last wins. One team has a 20 year drought, while the other team's drought is approaching 40 years.

NHL teams with the most Stanley Cup wins

1. Montreal Canadiens - 23 wins

The Montreal Canadiens hold the NHL record for most Stanley Cup wins with 23. The Canadians won the Stanley Cup in 1924, 1930, 1931, 1944, 1946, 1953, 1956-1960, 1965, 1966, 1968, 1969, 1971, 1973, 1976-1979, 1986, and 1993.

The Montreal Canadiens also won the Stanley Cup in 1916, two seasons before the NHL was established.

2. Toronto Maple Leafs - 13

The Toronto Maple Leafs won the second most Stanley Cups with 13. The Toronto Maple Leafs won the cup in 1918, 1922, 1932, 1942, 1945, 1947-1949, 1951, 1962-1964, and 1967.

The Toronto Maple Leafs are approaching a 40 year drought since their last Stanley Cup win.

3. Detroit Red Wings - 11

The Detroit Red Wings hold the record for most Stanley Cup wins by a team in the United States, and the third most Stanley Cup wins overall with 11. The Red Wings won the Stanley Cup in 1936, 1937, 1943, 1950, 1952, 1954, 1955, 1997, 1998, 2002, and 2008.

4. Boston Bruins - 6

The Boston Bruins won the Stanley Cup in 1929, 1939, 1941, 1970, 1972, and 2011.

T-5. Edmonton Oilers - 5

The Edmonton Oilers won the Stanley Cup in 1984, 1985, 1987, 1988, and 1990 thanks mainly to Wayne Gretzky. Wayne Gretzky's daughter is now engaged to a PGA golfer. For more see 18 Hot photos of Paulina Gretzky.

T-5. Chicago Blackhawks - 5

The Chicago Blackhawks won the Stanley Cup in 1934, 1938, 1961, 2010, and 2013.

Teams with 4 Stanley Cup wins

  • New York Rangers (1928, 1933, 1940, 1994)
  • New York Islanders (1980-1983)
  • Ottawa Senators (1920, 1921, 1923, 1927)

The Senators also won the Stanley Cup six times prior to the NHL.



  • Stephen A. Smith apologizes
    Stephen A. Smith: Ray Rice rant was 'most egregious error of my career'
    Domestic Violence
  • Maria Kirilenko slideshow
    Feast your eyes on the former fiance of Alex Ovechkin: The newly-single Maria Kirilenko
    20 Photos
  • New York Yankees fan returns lost Red Sox World Series ring to owner
    MLB News
  • Peyton Manning dancing
    Peyton Manning shows off his formidable dancing skills at training camp
    NFL News
  • Bagwell becoming porn star
    Buff Bagwell has the stuff, but his Vivid dreams have not come true just yet
    Fight Sports
  • Grave defiler identified
    Die-hard Browns fan identified in Art Modell’s grave defiling video
    Crimes & Court