Skip to main content
  1. Sports
  2. General Sports

NFL playoff schedule 2013: Playoffs picture for AFC & NFC matchups, dates

See also

The NFL playoff schedule 2013 has been decided as far as dates and the majority of the teams. As of this report, all but one team is officially decided, as the Dallas Cowboys and Philadelphia Eagles battle over the right to play the New Orleans Saints. Otherwise, every AFC and NFC team in the NFL playoffs picture is determined, with several games coming down to the wire on Sunday, Dec. 29 on the last day of the regular season schedule.

The site reported on Dec. 29 that the playoff schedule officially begins on Saturday, Jan. 4 and Sunday, Jan. 5 with the AFC and NFC wild-card rounds. It's unknown which of the matchups will take place on which days, but in the AFC, the No. 5 seed Kansas City Chiefs will meet the No. 4 seed Indianapolis Colts, while the No. 6 seed San Diego Chargers meets the No. 3 seed Cincinnati Bengals. The Denver Broncos and New England Patriots secured first-round byes and will await the winners of the other two games for AFC Divisional Round games on Saturday, Jan. 11 and Sunday, Jan. 12.

Over in the NFC is where two big games on Sunday's slate decided division winners and playoff contenders. In one game, Aaron Rodgers returned to lead the Green Bay Packers past the Bears in Chicago, clincing the NFC North and a playoff spot. That means Rodgers and the No. 4 Packers will host the No. 5 seed San Francisco 49ers in one of the wild-card games. The other game will feature the No. 6 seed New Orleans Saints visiting the winner of the Philadelphia versus Dallas game, still being played at this time. These wild-card games take place on Saturday, Jan. 4 and Sunday, Jan. 5.

Earning themselves byes for the first-round in the NFC were the Seattle Seahawks and Carolina Panthers. Carolina won by just a point in Atlanta during Tony Gonzalez's final game in the NFL, while Seattle, the top overall team in the NFC, defeated the St. Louis Rams 27-9 in Sunday's action. They'll host the winners of the wild-card games in games to be featured on Saturday, Jan. 11 and Sunday, Jan. 12, with times to be announced.

The AFC and NFC championship games will be played on Sunday, Jan. 19, while Super Bowl XLVIII will be held at MetLife Stadium in East Rutherford, New Jersey on Sunday, Feb. 2, 2014 at 6:30 p.m. EST. As of this report, it's unknown which channels will cover the individual playoff games although CBS, FOX and NBC are the likely candidates. FOX will handle televised coverage of the Super Bowl.



  • Legendary swimmer Michael Phelps is coming out of retirement, will he compete in Rio?
    Recreational Sports
  • Check out the NHL Ice Girls that are heating up rinks all across the country
    20 Photos
  • 49ers LB Aldon Smith arrested at LAX Airport for false bomb threat
    NFL News
  • Eagles running back LeSean McCoy slams Tim Tebow on Twitter
    NFL News
  • Never watched rugby before? Here's 20 reasons you should start
    20 Photos
  • Wiz kid: Washington Wizards sign 10-year-old with cancer to contract
    NBA News

User login

Log in
Sign in with your email and password. Or reset your password.
Write for us
Interested in becoming an Examiner and sharing your experience and passion? We're always looking for quality writers. Find out more about and apply today!