Skip to main content
Report this ad

See also:

NFL Hall of Fame 2014: Derick Brooks makes it, Charles Haley misses out

2014 NFL Hall of Fame ignores Charles Haley again
2014 NFL Hall of Fame ignores Charles Haley again
Photo by Wesley Hitt/Getty Images

The NFL Hall of Fame 2014 inductees were announced on Feb. 1 and two of the most dominating defensive players of their eras were up for the honor. According to ESPN, Tampa Bay Buccaneers linebacker Derrick Brooks made it easily but Dallas Cowboys defensive end Charles Haley missed out for the fifth straight year.

Brooks was in his first year of eligibility as was fellow inductee, Seattle Seahawks tackle Walter Jones. Brooks was an 11-time Pro Bowl star in his 14 seasons with Tampa Bay. He was also a five-time first team All-Pro and the 2002 Defensive Player of the Year. Jones was a nine-time Pro Bowl player and four-time All-Pro, only allowing 23 total sacks in his career.

Also making it into the NFL Hall of Fame is defensive end Michael Strahan, wide receiver Andre Reed and cornerback Aeneas Williams. The veteran's committee added defensive end Claude Humphrey and punter Ray Guy,

Guy is the first punter to ever get into the NFL Hall of Fame.

The addition of Reed follows the induction last year of Chris Carter. There have been three wide receivers who had been inexplicable by their absence, and now two of them finally made it. That has to make the fact that Tim Brown didn't even make the Top 10 this year troubling.

Also troubling is the fact that Charles Haley has made the finalists list for five years in a row and still hasn't been inducted. Haley is the only NFL player to ever win five Super Bowl rings, two with San Francisco and three with Dallas. He has 100.5 sacks in his career and was as dominating as anyone in his position during his career.

The NFL Hall of Fame 2014 inductees are all talented men, but there has to be a place one of these days for Charles Haley.

Report this ad