Skip to main content
  1. Life
  2. Neighborhoods
  3. Charity & Volunteerism

New smoking fine $100 for driving with children

See also

The state of Illinois has a proposed bill in place that has the lawmakers split. The new bill, if passed would make it unlawful to smoke in a vehicle with anyone under the age of 18 in the vehicle. If caught by the police, the smoker would be fined $100. The thought behind the proposal is to increase awareness of secondary smoke inhalation by children. The pro would be in favor of children's health while the con would be whether the Illinois government regulations have exceeds its reach over the rights of the individual. Personally, I am agree that secondary smoking is bad for anyone's health regardless of age but at the same time, I do not agree that a person should be fined for smoking in their own vehicle.

Advertisement

Life

  • Tom Petty
    Seven overlooked videos that prove the genius of Tom Petty and the Heartbreakers
    Today's Buzz
  • Gaylord Pickens
    Discover Gaylord-Pickens Oklahoma Heritage Museum dollar days
    Camera
    6 Photos
  • Yoga poses
    Learn how to strengthen your core muscles with these yoga poses
    Camera
    5 Photos
  • Baby boomer STD rates
    Sexually transmitted diseases: Baby boomers booming STD rates
    Camera
    7 Photos
  • Open relationships
    Are you thinking about exercising your option to be in an open relationship?
    Camera
    5 Photos
  • Medical symptoms
    See which symptoms should cause you to seek a doctor’s attention right away
    Camera
    6 Photos