Skip to main content
  1. AXS Entertainment
  2. Arts & Entertainment
  3. Music

New music: Residual Kid charity single drops July 15, free show Saturday

See also

Tomorrow Austin garage act Residual Kid drops new single, "Friday on My Mind," an Easybeats cover from 1966. The locals have been enjoying national buzz since SXSW 2013, recording with J. Mascis (Dinosaur Jr.) and performing all over the country. All proceeds from the sale of the new record will be dontated to Hospice Austin and Livestrong. The under 18 band was inspired by fan, Miriam "Miri" Hyman who requested they record the song before she passed away due to complications from her battle with breast cancer.

More Photos

Residual Kid presented both the new recording and an accompanying video to Miri in June of this year. The track is the first new material the band has produced since their debut EP "Faces" was released in 2012. The group has chosen a "pay what you want" model to support sales. The track will go on sale tomorrow (July 15) on the Residual Kid website. Preview the song by watching the video the band made for the song in the left sidebar.

To celebrate the release of the single, as well as singer/guitarist Deven Ivy’s 16th Birthday, Residual Kid will play a headline tour kick-off party at The Patio at Empire Control Room and Garage on Saturday, July 19th. The show is free ($5 under 21) and includes some good local acts on the bill with the band; CUNTO, Obscured by Echoes and Carl Sagan's Skate Shoes.

Residual Kid will head out on a national headlining tour July 25th with stops in Denver (Underground Music Showcase with Real Estate, People Under the Stairs and Blonde Redhead), a Daytrotter session and a Vans Warped Tour date in Kansas. The band's final summer tour date will be in Fort Worth at The Toadies' 7th annual Dia de los Toadies Festival with Ume (Austin) and the Old 97s among other acts.

Residual Kid is a three-piece punk/grunge band featuring teenage brothers Ben Redman (drums) Max Redman (bass) and Ivy on (guitar and vocals). Breakout performances at SXSW 2013 garnered the band international recognition and they have since recorded with Steve McDonald (OFF! / Redd Kross), Andre Kelman (Beastie Boys / Cat Power) and the aforementioned J Mascis while compiling material for a series of EP’s which will be released throughout 2015.


Today's top buzz...

  • Ted Nugent
    Ted Nugent concert at Native American casino canceled because of obvious reasons
    Music Buzz
  • NFL
    Pat Bowlen steps down as Broncos owner following Alzheimer's diagnosis
    NFL Buzz
  • Tina Fey
    See why Tina Fey is possibly the most popular woman in comedy at the moment
    Today's Buzz
  • Mick Jagger
    Mick Jagger promotes 'Get On Up' in New York, including Apollo Theater premiere
    20 Photos
  • Boyhood
    The new film 'Boyhood' chronicles twelve years of one boy's life
    19 Photos
  • Buffy
    We're counting down ten of the finest episodes of ‘Buffy the Vampire Slayer’
    7 Photos

Related Videos:

  • Scooter D.
    <iframe width="600" height="337" src="//;allowfullscreen=true&amp;autoplay=1"></iframe>
  • Gerald Albright
    <iframe width="560" height="315" src="//;allowfullscreen=true&amp;autoplay=1"></iframe>
  • Maggie Herron infuses warmth in follow-up album
    <iframe width="420" height="315" src="//;allowfullscreen=true&amp;autoplay=1"></iframe>