As of January 1, 2014 Oregonians will find themselves abiding by the newest laws set into action by the legislature. If you are a new mom that wishes to take your placenta with you after birthing your baby, you are now free to do so. Teenagers under the age of 14 wanting to keep a little sun kissed color throughout the winter will no longer be able to do so with the assistance of tanning beds unless they are accompanied with a doctor's note.
Oregonians who earn minimum wage will see an increase from $8.95 to $9.10. Tobacco smokers will spend a little more for their vice as the cigarette tax has been raised .13 cents to $1.31 per pack.
Another law targeting smokers was also set into motion. Beginning January 1, 2014 anyone smoking in a car while a child is present is now subject to a maximum first time fine of $250.00 and $500.00 for a second offense.
For Oregonians suffering from Post Traumatic Stress Disorder, Oregon law will now allow use of medicinal marijuana as treatment.