Skip to main content
  1. AXS Entertainment
  2. Arts & Entertainment
  3. Music

Neil Young releases new cover album 'A Letter Home' without announcement

See also

Neil Young has surprised fans, dropping a unannounced cover album titled "A Letter Home," on Fri., April 18. Released on Jack White's Third Man Records, who also co-produced the album with Young, the release is the legendary Canuck singer-songwriter's 35th studio album.

According to an article posted April 18 at, the "Heart of Gold" hitmaker quietly unveiled the album via White's Third Man Records online shop a day prior to Record Store Day. The 12-inch vinyl release contains 10-covers of songs by a range of artists, including: Phil Ochs, Bob Dylan, Bert Jansch, Tim Hardin, Willie Nelson, Ivory Joe Hunter, Bruce Springsteen, The Everly Brother and two songs from fellow Canadian folk icon Gordon Lightfoot. website page describes the record as, "An unheard collection of rediscovered songs from the past recorded on ancient electro mechanical technology captures and unleashes the essence of something that could have been gone forever. The album retails for $20.00 and will be available in retail shops for Record Store Day purchase.

"A Letter Home" track list:

1. "Changes" (Phil Ochs)
2. "Girl From The North Country" (Bob Dylan)
3. "Needle of Death" (Bert Jansch)
4. "Early Morning Rain" (Gordon Lightfoot)
5. "Reason To Believe" (Tim Hardin)
6. "On The Road Again" (Willie Nelson)
7. "If You Could Only Read My Mind" (Gordon Lightfoot)
8. "Since I Met You Baby" (Ivory Joe Hunter)
9. "My Hometown" (Bruce Springsteen)
10. "I Wonder if I Care as Much" (Everly Brothers)

Young wrapped up a two-night acoustic solo stand in Dallas, Texas at Morton H Meyerson Symphony Center last night. The solo trek ends with two shows April 21 and 22 at the historic Chicago Theatre after which the two-time Rock and Roll Hall of Fame inductee heads overseas to team up with Crazy Horse for summer European tour. See Neil for more details.

Did you know? Neil Young and his PonoMusic team accumulated over $6 million in funding via Kickstarter, making the campaign to support the veteran folk-rocker's new music download service, player, and audio format designed for audiophiles, the third largest in Kickstarter history.