Skip to main content
Report this ad

See also:

NCAA Football Preseason poll 2014: Florida State No. 1, Michigan State No. 8

Can the Spartans win the 2014 NCAA championship behind Connor Cook?
Can the Spartans win the 2014 NCAA championship behind Connor Cook?
Photo by Jonathan Moore/Getty Images

The 2014 NCAA football preseason coaches poll has been released and to no one’s surprise the defending champion Florida State Seminoles are sitting at No. 1. According to a Sportsline report on July 31, FSU, who defeated Auburn 34-31 in last year’s BCS championship game will start the 2014 season on the top of the rock.

Florida State received 56 first place votes and was easily the clear cut No. 1 selection, however something does seem a bit odd about the first preseason poll. Alabama is ranked No. 2 yet they didn’t get any first place votes. Bama is ranked higher than No. 3 Oklahoma, who received three first place votes and No. 4 Oregon who received 1 first place vote. Other teams who received a first place vote were No. 6 Ohio State and No. 9 South Carolina.

The Michigan State Spartans debuted at No. 8 in the preseason poll. MSU is coming off of a great season in which they defeated Ohio State in the Big Ten Championship game and rolled over Stanford in the Rose Bowl. Is this the year the Spartans compete for a national championship? Many experts think that MSU has leap-frogged Ohio State and is the new team to beat out of the Big Ten.

With the way Junior QB Connor Cook has developed and rise of the Michigan State defense the last two seasons it looks like OSU is no shoe in to win the Big Ten this season.

Las Vegas sports books have Ohio State listed at 10/1 to win this year's championship, while the Spartans are currently 30/1.

Here is a look at the first NCAA coaches poll for 2014.

1. Florida State (56)
2. Alabama
3. Oklahoma (3)
4. Oregon (1)
5. Auburn
6. Ohio State (1)
8. Michigan State
9. South Carolina (1)
10. Baylor
11. Stanford
12. Georgia
13. LSU
14. Wisconsin
15. USC
16. Clemson
17. Notre Dame
18. Arizona State
19. Ole Miss
20. Texas A&M
21. Kansas State
22. Nebraska
23. North Carolina
24. Texas
25. Washington

Report this ad