Skip to main content
Report this ad

See also:

NBCC Award Finalists Announced

The National Book Critics Circle
The National Book Critics Circle
Image courtesy NBCC

The National Book Critics Circle recently announced the category finalists for this year's NBCC liiterary awards. The winners in each category will be announced at the annual NBCC Awards Ceremony in New York on March 10, 2011The finalists are:


Anne Carson, Nox, New Directions

Kathleen Graber, The Eternal City, Princeton University Press

Terrance Hayes, Lighthead, Penguin Poets

Kay Ryan, The Best Of It, Grove

C.D. Wright, One With Others, Copper Canyon


Barbara Demick, NOTHING TO ENVY: Ordinary Lives in North Korea. Spiegel & Grau

S.C. Gwynne EMPIRE OF THE SUMMER MOON: Quanah Parker and the Rise and Fall of the Comanches, the Most Powerful Indian Tribe in American; Scribner

Jennifer Homans. APOLLO’S ANGELS: A History of Ballet. Random

Siddhartha Mukherjee, THE EMPEROR OF ALL MALADIES: A Biography of Cancer. Scribner

Isabel Wilkerson, THE WARMTH OF OTHER SUNS: The Epic Story of America’s Great Migration. Random


Kai Bird, Crossing Mandelbaum Gate: Coming Of Age Between The Arabs And Israelis, 1956-1978, Scribner

David Dow, The Autobiography Of An Execution, Twelve

Christopher Hitchens, Hitch-22: A Memoir, Twelve

Rahna Reiko Rizzuto, Hiroshima In The Morning, Feminst Press

Patti Smith, Just Kids, Ecco

Darin Strauss, Half A Life, Mcsweeney’s


Sarah Bakewell. How To Live, Or A Life Of Montaigne. Other Press

Selina Hastings. The Secret Lives Of Somerset Maugham: A Biography. Random House.

Yunte Huang. Charlie Chan: The Untold Story Of The Honorable Detective And His Rendezvous With American History. Norton.

Thomas Powers. The Killing Of Crazy Horse. Knopf.

Tom Segev. Simon Wiesenthal: The Lives And Legends. Doubleday.


Jennifer Egan. A Visit From The Goon Squad, Knopf

Jonathan Franzen. Freedom, Farrar, Strauss and Giroux

David Grossman. To The End Of The Land. Knopf.

Hans Keilson. Comedy In A Minor Key, Farrar, Strauss and Giroux

Paul Murray. Skippy Dies, Faber & Faber.

The National Book Critics Circle, founded in 1974 at the Algonquin, is a nonprofit, tax-exempt organization consisting of some 600 active book reviewers who are interested in honoring quality writing and communicating with one another about common concerns. It is managed by a 24-member all-volunteer board of directors. For more information, go to

Visit the Dayton Book Examiner at her blog too: The Lit WItch: A Book Blog.


Report this ad