Skip to main content

See also:

NBA playoffs 2014: Charlotte Bobcats vs Miami Heat live stream and ABC game time

Chris Bosh #1 of the Miami Heat looks on during a game against the Denver Nuggets at American Airlines Arena on March 14, 2014 in Miami, Fla.
Chris Bosh #1 of the Miami Heat looks on during a game against the Denver Nuggets at American Airlines Arena on March 14, 2014 in Miami, Fla.
Photo by Mike Ehrmann/Getty Images

According to an April 19, 2014, NBA report, the Miami Heat begin their title defense against the Charlotte Bobcats in Game 1 of the Eastern Conference NBA playoffs 2014 today. American Airlines Arena in Miami, Fla., will be the site for the series opener, which will be broadcast nationally on ABC and streaming live at ABC-Go Live Stream online.

Opening tipoff for Game 1 of this best-of-seven series is scheduled for 3:30 p.m. EST (2:30 p.m. CST/1:30 p.m. MST/12:30 p.m. PST) following the NBA pre-game show on ABC. With a record of 54-38, Miami comes into the postseason as the No.2 team in the Eastern Conference, while Charlotte occupies the seventh spot following a 43-39 season.

For the visiting Bobcats, an April 20 Miami-Herald report doesn’t give this team much of a chance against the 2-time defending NBA champs in the opening round of the 2014 NBA playoffs. In fact, the author of “In My Opinion” goes as far as predicting the Cats’ would have to wait at least another year before recording the franchise’s first playoff victory.

In the case of the hosting Heat, this team will only go as far as Chris Bosh – not LeBron James or Dwyane Wade – takes them this postseason, according to an April 20 Bleacher Report. Tom Sunnergren, reverts back to a 2012 quote, in which Heat head coach Erik Spoesltra states that the Miami center is the difference-maker in postseason play.

“He is our most important player, and he’s as steady and consistent as he always has been for the last two and a half years,” Spoelstra said. “He makes it look easy and he makes it look quiet, and yet he’s so impactful in the game.”

For what it’s worth, NBA oddsmakers at ESPN.com believe that the hosting champs should have little trouble getting off to a 1-0 lead on the visiting underdogs this evening from South Beach. In fact, the Miami Heat [-10] come into this game listed as double-digit favorites over the Charlotte Bobcats [+10] in the ATS department, while the OVER/UNDER is set at a combined total of 187 points.

Don’t miss what is sure to be an interesting opener, which should set the tone for the remainder of the 2014 NBA playoffs series. Tune to ABC’s national coverage at the aforementioned TV start time, or click on the link provided above to watch the ABC free live stream feed between the Charlotte Bobcats and the Miami Heat.